Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.

Four Transitions, Jürg Lehni

Interdisciplinary Swiss artist Jürg Lehni’s installation Four Transitions (2020) consists of four boxes mounted on a wall, each of which shows the process of a number being created in a distinctly different colour and technology. 

More
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013

Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, Pe Lang

The Swiss artist Pe Lang creates entire (sound) spaces in his minimalist, kinetic installations. These originate from his occupation with the laws of physics, which he investigates, and with experimental music. The small-format machine Positioning System VI – Falling Objects (2013) is the result of a series of the artist’s physical experiments on the surface tension of water. A relatively large, electronically controlled pipette filled with water is mounted above a small, dark platform, ready to dispense a square of 21 × 21 water drops onto it.

More
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist

Displuvium, Fragmentin

Fragmentin is a collective formed by the artists Laura Perrenoud, David Colombini and Marc Dubois, based in Lausanne. In Displuvium (2019), they investigate man’s efforts to control nature, in this case through weather modification in a process called cloud seeding. The installation reveals the extent of human intervention in natural processes and ultimately shows the limits of the power of science and technology over nature, which, as the failures demonstrate, are patently beyond human control.

More
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still

Um die Ecke, Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg

With their installation Um die Ecke (Around the Corner), the Swiss artists Denis Handschin and Michel Winterberg have created a multiperspective portrait of Basel’s Dreispitz area. Film footage of the site is projected onto an assemblage of four prism-like triangular surfaces, while its acoustic and electronic characteristics are also provided, along with information relating to Basel’s archaeological soil research. 

More
Aline Veillat, Sada el-Kawn, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Sada El-Kawn, Aline Veillat

A ceiling-high papyrus plant is festooned with numerous loudspeakers and megaphones, through which a buzz of Arabic poems, revolutionary songs, muezzin calls to prayer or the twittering of birds can be heard. 

More
Philipp Madörin, Allebildergenerator, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Allebildergenerator, Philipp Madörin

For the work Allebildergenerator, the Basel artist Philipp Madörin, who originally worked in the field of medical-diagnostic imagery, developed an algorithm that can generate all the images that can be made on a b/w monitor with 480 x 360 pixels.

More

Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.

Four Transitions, Jürg Lehni

L’installation Four Transitions, créée en 2020 par l’artiste suisse interdisciplinaire Jürg Lehni, est composée de quatre boîtes-présentoirs fixées à une paroi. Sur chacune d’elles apparaît un chiffre en formation, caractérisé par des couleurs et des techniques différentes.

Plus
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013

Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, Pe Lang

L’artiste suisse Pe Lang met en scène des espaces (sonores) entiers avec ses installations cinétiques minimalistes. Les œuvres émanent de son intérêt pour la musique expérimentale et pour les lois de la physique, qu’il teste lui-même. La petite machine Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects est elle aussi issue d’une série d’expériences physiques de l’artiste portant sur la tension superficielle de l’eau. Une grande pipette commandée par système électronique et un réservoir d’eau sont montés au-dessus d’une petite plate-forme sombre. La pipette dépose 21 x 21 gouttes d’eau pour former un carré.

Plus
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist

Displuvium, Fragmentin

Fragmentin est un collectif d’artistes basé à Lausanne et composé de Laura Perrenoud, David Colombini et Marc Dubois. Avec Displuvium (2019), il analyse les tentatives humaines d’intervention dans des phénomènes naturels, ici à travers des modifications météorologiques ciblées. L’installation révèle la portée des interventions humaines dans les processus naturels et montre également les limites du pouvoir de la science et de la technique sur la nature, qui, fort heureusement, ne se soumet pas véritablement au contrôle humain.

Plus
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still

Um die Ecke, Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg

À travers leur installation Um die Ecke, les Suisses Denis Handschin et Michel Winterberg dressent un portrait aux multiples perspectives du quartier bâlois du Dreispitz. Sur quatre surfaces triangulaires agencées en forme de prisme sont projetées des prises de vue du quartier, auxquelles sont appliquées des caractéristiques acoustiques et électroniques, ainsi que des informations du service d’archéologie de Bâle.

Plus
Aline Veillat, Sada el-Kawn, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Sada El-Kawn, Aline Veillat

Un papyrus touchant le plafond abrite plusieurs haut-parleurs et mégaphones, qui diffusent un méli-mélo de poèmes arabes, chansons révolutionnaires, appels de muezzin et gazouillis d’oiseaux.

Plus
Philipp Madörin, Allebildergenerator, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Allebildergenerator, Philipp Madörin

Philipp Madörin, artiste bâlois issu du domaine de l’imagerie de diagnostic médical, a mis au point pour son projet allebildergenerator, 2480*360 un algorithme permettant de générer toutes les images susceptibles d’être affichées sur un écran en noir et blanc avec une résolution 480 x 360 pixels.

Plus