Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Flood Fill – Verbs, Jürg Lehni

Jürg Lehni uses the Flood Fill algorithm that he already modified and further developed for his 2003 work Flood Fill – Global Warning to visualize verbs from Richard Serra’s Verb List of 1967-68. On two pieces of paper, which are now part of the collection of MoMA in New York, Serra listed 84 verbs and 24 contexts in which the verbs could be found. Based on his famous slogan “Drawing is a verb”, Serra saw the list as a stock of actions related to oneself and to the material, location and process of art.

More
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Flood Fill – Global Warning, Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem

With the six video animations that make up Flood Fill – Global Warning, the artists Jürg Lehni and Guy Meldem announce an absurd warning: “Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!” The vital energy is visualized as an empty, geometric net, which a cat, for instance, pulls out of a woman’s brain. 

More
Yves Netzhammer, Vororte des Körpers, 2012, still

Vororte des Körpers, Yves Netzhammer

Vororte der Körper is a consistent animation, which casts the film medium back on its origin, the image. Beginning with divers on an ocean platform, the viewer plunges simultaneously through pictorial spaces in pictorial worlds, whose associative inner logic collides with the routines of conventional narration.

More
Hervé Graumann, Raoul A. Pictor cherche son style, 1993, installation view

Raoul A. Pictor cherche son style, Hervé Graumann

On the tiny monitor of a Macintosh Colour Classic Computer, Hervé Graumann created a painstakingly detailed artist's studio for his protagonist Raoul A. Pictor, upon whose artistic activity he has continued to expand in subsequent years. 

More
Yves Netzhammer, Dialogischer Abrieb, 2011, still

Dialogischer Abrieb, Yves Netzhammer

The metaphorically applied storyline of a dialogue in the form of a car crash, in which two subjects approach each other in slow motion and finally collide, provides the formal structure of the film. Mutual dependencies and influences are illustrated symbolically. 

More
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still

A Touch of Vacuum, Jonas Baumann

In Jonas Baumann's A Touch of Vacuum, a loose series of short, digitally generated moving sculptures, set before neutral, indefinitely open visual spaces, moves past the viewer. One sees, for instance, a white cross, which is touched by a piece of cloth with a strictly geometric pattern of black and white cubes that then falls over it to the ground – and one thinks immediately of a mixture between Malevich, Suprematism and early Mondrian.

More
Philipp Gasser, Der, der kommt, ist nicht der, den du erwartet hast, 1999, installation view

Der, der kommt, ist nicht der, den du erwartet hast, Philipp Gasser

Since his beginnings as an artist, Philipp Gasser's focus has been on drawing. This is still the case today, when he mainly works as a media artist. Although his animations are staged as simple projections, they exert a physical "pull" on the viewer, reaching outside the image to draw us in.

More
Philipp Gasser, Der moderne Mensch, 2000, still

Der moderne Mensch, Philipp Gasser

On the occasion of the new millennium, Philipp Gasser created Der moderne Mensch (The Modern Human) in order to address a new image of mankind that was supposed to accompany the change in millennium. In a normally lit exhibition room, a mirror is used to split a projection into two projections, onto both sides of a corner or two opposing walls.

More
Yves Netzhammer, Formales Gewissen, 2013, still

Formales Gewissen, Yves Netzhammer

Formales Gewissen (2013) represents the end of the trilogy begun by Dialogischer Abrieb (2011) and continued in Vororte der Körper (2012), in which Yves Netzhammer studied possible forms of interaction between human beings and their environment.

More
collectif_fact, ce qui arrive, 2005, screenshot

ce qui arrive, collectif_fact

The video animation ce qui arrive is a virtual tour though a large office building, whose anonymous corridors and meeting rooms could be anywhere in the western world. As the camera moves through the building on a horizontal or vertical path, the configurations of people in each room change through overlapping still images.

More

Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Flood Fill – Verbs, Jürg Lehni

Jürg Lehni utilise l’algorithme de remplissage par diffusion modifié par ses soins, déjà développé en 2003 pour son travail Flood Fill – Global Warning, pour la représentation graphique de termes de la Verb list de Richard Serra datant de 1967-68. Serra avait alors répertorié 84 verbes et 24 contextes dans lesquels ceux-ci sont susceptibles d’apparaître, sur deux feuilles qui appartiennent aujourd’hui à la collection du MoMa à New York. Conformément à sa célèbre citation «drawing is a verb», Serra considérait cette liste comme une série d’actions se référant à un soi-même, un matériau, un lieu et un processus artistique.

Plus
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Flood Fill – Global Warning, Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem

Avec les six animations vidéo Flood Fill – Global Warning, les artistes Jürg Lehni et Guy Meldem formulent une mise en garde absurde: «Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!» L’énergie vitale est ainsi représentée comme une toile géométrique vide, aspirée du cerveau d’une femme par un chat.

Plus
Yves Netzhammer, Vororte des Körpers, 2012, still

Vororte des Körpers, Yves Netzhammer

Vororte der Körper est une animation logique, qui renvoie le film en tant que média à son origine, c'est-à-dire l'image. À partir d'une plongée depuis une plateforme en mer, le spectateur s'immerge simultanément dans des univers visuels dont la logique associative intrinsèque va à l'encontre des habitudes de la narration conventionnelle.

Plus
Hervé Graumann, Raoul A. Pictor cherche son style, 1993, installation view

Raoul A. Pictor cherche son style, Hervé Graumann

Sur le minuscule écran d'un ordinateur Macintosh Colour Classic, Hervé Graumann a élaboré un atelier d'artiste minutieusement détaillé pour son héros Raoul A. Pictor, dont il n'a cessé d'étendre l'activité artistique dans les années qui ont suivi.

Plus
Yves Netzhammer, Dialogischer Abrieb, 2011, still

Dialogischer Abrieb, Yves Netzhammer

L'action de dialogue mise en scène métaphoriquement sous forme d'un accident de voiture, dans lequel deux sujets se rapprochent au ralenti et finissent par entrer en collision, constitue la structure formelle du film. Les interdépendances et les caractéristiques sont représentées de façon symbolique.

Plus
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still

A Touch of Vacuum, Jonas Baumann

Dans A Touch of Vacuum, Jonas Baumann fait défiler devant le spectateur une série aléatoire de sculptures animées générées numériquement, avec en fond des espaces ouverts neutres et indéfinis. On aperçoit ainsi une croix blanche effleurée par un tissu décoré d'un quadrillage géométrique en noir et blanc, qui glisse ensuite sur le sol – la scène évoque immédiatement Malevitch, le suprématisme et les premières œuvres de Mondrian.

Plus
Philipp Gasser, Der, der kommt, ist nicht der, den du erwartet hast, 1999, installation view

Der, der kommt, ist nicht der, den du erwartet hast, Philipp Gasser

Philipp Gasser s'intéresse au dessin depuis ses début en tant qu'artiste, ce qui est toujours le cas aujourd'hui, où son travail est surtout axé sur les médias. Bien qu'elles soient mises en scène comme de simples projections, ses animations produisent un appel d'air physique. Elles sortent du cadre de l'image et impliquent corporellement le spectateur.

Plus
Philipp Gasser, Der moderne Mensch, 2000, still

Der moderne Mensch, Philipp Gasser

À l'occasion du nouveau millénaire, Philipp Gasser a réalisé une œuvre intitulée Der moderne Mensch, traitant de l'image de l'homme censée correspondre à cette nouvelle ère: dans une salle d'exposition normalement éclairée, une projection est divisée à l'aide d'un miroir en images projetées sur un angle ou sur deux murs opposés.

Plus
Yves Netzhammer, Formales Gewissen, 2013, still

Formales Gewissen, Yves Netzhammer

Formales Gewissen (2013) est le dernier volet d'une trilogie, comprenant également les œuvres Dialogischer Abrieb (2011) et Vororte der Körper (2012), à travers laquelle Yves Netzhammer explore les formes possibles d'interaction de l'humain avec son environnement.

Plus
collectif_fact, ce qui arrive, 2005, screenshot

ce qui arrive, collectif_fact

L’animation vidéo ce qui arrive montre une vue en coupe d’un grand immeuble de bureaux, dont les enfilades de couloirs et les salles de réunion anonymes pourraient être celles de n’importe quel pays occidental. Tandis que la caméra se déplace en continu de façon horizontale ou verticale le long du bâtiment, la configuration des personnes présentes dans chaque pièce se modifie au gré des fondus d’un plan fixe à un autre, ne permettant de saisir les mouvements des protagonistes que de façon fragmentée. 

Plus