Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Flood Fill – Verbs, Jürg Lehni

Jürg Lehni uses the Flood Fill algorithm that he already modified and further developed for his 2003 work Flood Fill – Global Warning to visualize verbs from Richard Serra’s Verb List of 1967-68. On two pieces of paper, which are now part of the collection of MoMA in New York, Serra listed 84 verbs and 24 contexts in which the verbs could be found. Based on his famous slogan “Drawing is a verb”, Serra saw the list as a stock of actions related to oneself and to the material, location and process of art.

More
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Flood Fill – Global Warning, Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem

With the six video animations that make up Flood Fill – Global Warning, the artists Jürg Lehni and Guy Meldem announce an absurd warning: “Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!” The vital energy is visualized as an empty, geometric net, which a cat, for instance, pulls out of a woman’s brain. 

More
Laurent Huret, Face Swap (present), 2017, still

Face Swap (present), Lauren Huret

Lauren Huret’s concise video loop Face Swap (present), presented shortly after her work Face Swap (past), offers a mirror for the reflection of how our identities are usurped by our smartphones. Here, instead of seeing the artist at her desk in front of her computer screen, we find her posed with her smartphone in a barren wintery landscape in Utah, with the minimalist concrete bunkers of the NSA Data Center in the background.

More
Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009

25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, Zimoun

The kinetic-minimalist sound artist Zimoun’s video 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System (2009) takes the sounds made by live woodworms at work as a starting point for the creation of an atonal, minimalist soundscape.

More
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot

Satellite Daylight Pavilion, fabric | ch

The two-minute video animations of Satellite Daylight Pavilion (2017) by the Lausanne-based studio for architecture, interaction and research fabric | ch encompass four views of a virtual, interactive teahouse designed for Kensington Gardens in London.

More
Lauren Huret, Face Swap (past), 2016, screenshot

Face Swap (past), Lauren Huret

In her works, Lauren Huret takes on such issues as the impact of artificial intelligence. On her Website she only shares a disclaimer with users, since – as she writes – she’s quite mistrustful of the WWW.

More

Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Flood Fill – Verbs, Jürg Lehni

Jürg Lehni utilise l’algorithme de remplissage par diffusion modifié par ses soins, déjà développé en 2003 pour son travail Flood Fill – Global Warning, pour la représentation graphique de termes de la Verb list de Richard Serra datant de 1967-68. Serra avait alors répertorié 84 verbes et 24 contextes dans lesquels ceux-ci sont susceptibles d’apparaître, sur deux feuilles qui appartiennent aujourd’hui à la collection du MoMa à New York. Conformément à sa célèbre citation «drawing is a verb», Serra considérait cette liste comme une série d’actions se référant à un soi-même, un matériau, un lieu et un processus artistique.

Plus
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Flood Fill – Global Warning, Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem

Avec les six animations vidéo Flood Fill – Global Warning, les artistes Jürg Lehni et Guy Meldem formulent une mise en garde absurde: «Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!» L’énergie vitale est ainsi représentée comme une toile géométrique vide, aspirée du cerveau d’une femme par un chat.

Plus
Laurent Huret, Face Swap (present), 2017, still

Face Swap (present), Lauren Huret

Peu de temps après Face Swap (past), Lauren Huret met en scène, avec la courte boucle vidéo Face Swap (present), l’appropriation de notre identité par nos smartphones. Nous ne voyons plus l’artiste assise à son bureau face à l’écran d’ordinateur, mais posant avec son smartphone dans la main, devant les bunkers en béton minimalistes du Centre de données de la NSA en Utah, dans un paysage de collines hivernal et désertique.

Plus
Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009

25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, Zimoun

La vidéo 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System (2009) de l’artiste sonore cinétique minimaliste Zimoun utilise le bruit produit par des vers de bois vivants pour générer un univers sonore atonal et minimaliste.

Plus
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot

Satellite Daylight Pavilion, fabric | ch

L’animation vidéo Satellite Daylight Pavilion (2017), d’une durée de 2 minutes et réalisée par le studio lausannois d’architecture, d’interaction et de recherche fabric | ch, montre quatre vues d’un salon de thé virtuel interactif imaginé pour Kensington Gardens à Londres.

Plus
Lauren Huret, Face Swap (past), 2016, screenshot

Face Swap (past), Lauren Huret

Lauren Huret axe notamment ses travaux sur les questions liées aux conséquences de l’intelligence artificielle. Son site Internet est ainsi uniquement constitué d’un avertissement à destination des utilisateurs, car – comme elle l’écrit – elle fait preuve d’une grande méfiance envers le web.

Plus