Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009, Ausstellungsansicht Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen, 2009

Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite

Year: 2009
Type: 3D-Animation
Media Format: 3-channel video
Dimension: variable
Edition: 3
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. 80
Artwork Link: www.zone-interdite.net
Artist Website: www.wachter-jud.net

Info
prev
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009, Ausstellungsansicht Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2006 —
ongoing, Photo: Franz Wamhof
Ausstellungsansicht How much of this is fiction, HeK Basel, 2017
prev
next

Zone*Interdite’s animated interactive 3D-tour of the Guantanamo detention camp is part of a large-scale mapping of restricted military zones. In 1999, the two Swiss artists Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud began conducting research for a database they later created via a web interface in 2003, under www.zone-interdite.net. Calling up the site, a grey world map appears, spotted with green dots, all locations of restricted areas: no man’s land, places where unauthorized entry is impossible.
The online walkthrough allows users to navigate through the prison of Guantanamo and Guantanamo Bay on a screen or a large format projection. These zones in particular were blind spots on the map, until the Internet and mobile phones with high-resolution cameras came into play. Their mapping requires extensive image research and deductive analysis online, which the two Swiss artists undertook, collecting and analysing all freely accessible images related to these places. In addition to Guantanamo, a 3D-tour of an Islamic training camp in Sudan was also created. The artists culled the homepages of veterans, soldier blogs but also official reports to put innumerable fragments together in order to form a new whole and enable viewers their free formation of opinion. However, since the visual worlds are reconstructions of evaluated images, they also have “blind spots” and are therefore as fictitious as they are true. Nevertheless, taking an expedition on www.zone-interdite.net offers the opportunity to independently perceive these restricted zones. Wachter and Jud’s project also caused a great international sensation when it achieved to locate the previously unconfirmed children’s prison in a former officers’ house on Guantanamo Bay and reconstruct its dimensions.
With their work, Wachter and Jud virtually monitor the controlling bodies, the military, the state and secret services. As normal citizens, every image we upload to the net, allows us, and others, to be increasingly monitored, rendering us increasingly transparent. This is made all the more clear by this work: not even military restricted areas are impenetrable. The Internet makes both intelligence and abuse possible. It is at the service of those who use it: all of us. Wachter & Jud do their part in offering it as a tool for democracy and the free formation of opinion.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Christoph Wachter, *1966 and Mathias Jud, *1974, both from Zurich, have been working together on participatory community projects since 2000. Their works have been shown in numerous institutions around the world, including the nGbK Berlin, Kunsthaus Dresden, Manchester Art Gallery, Galerie IG Bildende Kunst Vienna, Ars Electronica in Linz, File Festival São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival and Kunsthaus Langenthal in Switzerland. Since 2016, they have held the directorship of the Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz (KHHP), with a cross-departmental guest professorship at the Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Today they work and live in Berlin and Zurich.

Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009, Ausstellungsansicht Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen, 2009

Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite

Year: 2009
Type: Animation 3D
Media Format: 3-channel video
Dimension: variable
Edition: 3
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. 80
Artwork Link: www.zone-interdite.net
Artist Website: www.wachter-jud.net

Info
prev
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009, Ausstellungsansicht Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2009
Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud, Zone*Interdite, 2006 —
ongoing, Photo: Franz Wamhof
Ausstellungsansicht How much of this is fiction, HeK Basel, 2017
prev
next

La traversée 3D interactive animée du camp de prisonniers de Guantanamo fait partie d’une cartographie de grande ampleur des zones militaires interdites. Dès 1999, les deux artistes suisses Christoph Wachter et Mathias Jud ont commencé à mener des recherches, et une base de données accessible via une interface web a vu le jour en 2003. Le site Internet du projet de Wachter et Jud montre une carte du monde grise, constellée de points verts, qui représentent des zones interdites : des no man’s lands dont l’accès n’est pas permis aux personnes non autorisées.
Le public qui assiste à la traversée peut naviguer à travers la prison de Guantanamo et Guantanamo Bay sur un écran ou au moyen d’une projection grand format. Avant l’avènement d’Internet, ces territoires étaient représentés par des taches aveugles sur les cartes. Grâce à Internet et aux téléphones à caméras haute résolution, ces lieux peuvent désormais être cartographiés. Il est cependant nécessaire pour cela de mener des recherches d’images intensives sur le web et d’analyser les résultats de façon déductive. Les artistes suisses se sont consacrés à ce travail de fourmi pour deux de ces zones interdites : ils ont collecté et analysé toutes les images en lien avec ces lieux accessibles sur Internet. En plus de Guantanamo, ils sont parvenus à reconstituer en 3D un camp d’entraînement islamique au Soudan. Ils ont pour cela consulté des sites de vétérans, des blogs de soldats et des rapports officiels, puis ont assemblé les innombrables fragments pour obtenir un tableau complet, permettant de se forger une opinion libre. Les univers visuels représentent quant à eux des reconstitutions de « taches aveugles » à partir des images analysées et sont donc aussi bien fictifs que fidèles à la réalité. Ils permettent, pour la première fois, de se faire sa propre image des zones interdites. Wachter et Jud ont suscité un fort émoi à l’échelle mondiale en localisant ainsi une prison pour enfants dans un ancien bâtiment d’officiers de Guantanamo Bay, dont l’existence n’avait jusqu’alors jamais été confirmée, et en reconstituant son envergure.
À travers leur travail, Wachter et Jud surveillent quasiment les organes de contrôle, les militaires, les États et les services secrets. Chaque image que nous publions sur Internet permet à ces institutions de nous surveiller et de surveiller les autres, nous rendant ainsi entièrement transparent·es à leurs yeux. Ces travaux soulignent le fait que même les zones militaires interdites ne sont pas entièrement à l’abri de cela. Internet permet à la fois de faire la lumière sur des faits tenus secrets et de commettre des abus. Il se tient au service de celles et ceux qui l’utilisent, c’est-à-dire, l’humanité toute entière. Wachter et Jud contribuent à en faire une utilisation favorable à la démocratie et à la formation de la libre opinion.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Christoph Wachter, *1966 et Mathias Jud, *1974, tous deux de Zurich, travaillent ensemble sur des projets communautaires participatifs depuis 2000. Leurs œuvres ont été exposées dans de nombreuses institutions à travers le monde, notamment à la nGbK Berlin, au Kunsthaus Dresden, à la Manchester Art Gallery, à la Galerie IG Bildende Kunst Vienne, à Ars Electronica à Linz, au File Festival de São Paulo et Rio de Janeiro, au Festival du film documentaire et de la vidéo de Kassel et au Kunsthaus Langenthal en Suisse. Depuis 2016, ils sont directeurs de la Kunsthalle am Hamburger Platz (KHHP), avec un poste de professeur invité interdépartemental à la Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Aujourd'hui, ils travaillent et vivent à Berlin et à Zurich.