Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018

Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter

Year: 2011 – 2018
Type: Database Internet Online
Media Format: Webseite
Credits: Die Online-Multimedia-Plattform World of Matter wird von der Zürcher Universität für Kunst und der George Foundation finanziert.
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, Inv.Nr. S0065.
Artwork Link: www.worldofmatter.net
Artist Website: www.worldofmatter.net

Info
prev
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
prev
next

Water. Coltan. Coal. Oil. Air. Lithium. Fish. Rice. E-waste. Soil. Gold. Plastic. Cotton. Tantalum. All these extensively mined raw materials are the focus of the international research, exhibition and weaving project World of Matter. Drawing reference to notions such as “a world that matters” as well as the world of material processes, World of Matter offers a forum to artists, photojournalists and documentary filmmakers, architects and programmers who have already worked extensively in the field of raw materials and its related local policies to cooperate with theoreticians who conduct research in geography, art history and cultural theory. 

In view of the “limits of growth” reached today, the interdisciplinary research project addresses the complex cycles or ecologies of raw materials. World of Matter challenges the term “resource,” because it assumes an anthropocentric perspective that views raw materials exclusively as something available for human consumption. On the other hand, the project strengthens concepts of “ecologies.” Not focusing on the human being, these convey an understanding of non-hierarchical interactions and cycles between manifold forms of life, matter and technology. 

The artistic-scientific development and production of new visual materials, texts, cartographies, public programs, a publication, internet platform, and exhibition is set to contribute to liberating the concept of resource from its hitherto predominantly economic-industrial evaluation and to incorporate its aesthetic and cultural-theoretical context. 

(Translated from German text by the Institute for Theory (ith), Zurich University of Arts: https://www.zhdk.ch/forschungsprojekt/world-of-matter-ueber-den-umgang-mit-globalen-ressourcen-426454)

Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018

Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter

Year: 2011 – 2018
Type: page web
Media Format: Webseite
Credits: Die Online-Multimedia-Plattform World of Matter wird von der Zürcher Universität für Kunst und der George Foundation finanziert.
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, Inv.Nr. S0065.
Artwork Link: www.worldofmatter.net
Artist Website: www.worldofmatter.net

Info
prev
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
Mabe Bethonico, Ursula Biemann, Uwe H. Martin et al., World of Matter, 2011 – 2018
prev
next

Eau. Coltan. Charbon. Pétrole. Air. Lithium. Poisson. Riz. Déchets électroniques. Sol. Or. Plastique. Coton. Tantale. Le projet World of Matter, à la croisée de la recherche, de l’art et du web, s’intéresse à toutes les matières premières qui font aujourd’hui l’objet d’une exploitation intensive. Cette entreprise au titre polysémique réunit des artistes, des photojournalistes, des documentaristes, des architectes et des informaticien·nes qui ont déjà travaillé de manière approfondie sur les questions des matières premières et des politiques territoriales correspondantes, et qui collaborent avec des spécialistes de la recherche en géographie, en histoire de l’art et en théorie culturelle. 
Compte tenu des « limites de la croissance » atteintes aujourd’hui, ce projet de recherche interdisciplinaire examine les cycles et les écologies complexes des matières premières. World of Matter questionne cependant la notion de « ressource », car, d’un point de vue anthropocentrique, celle-ci considère les matières premières uniquement comme des matériaux susceptibles d’être consommés par les humains. À l’inverse, le projet se concentre sur le concept d’écologies, qui ne place pas l’humain au centre, mais repose sur une appréhension non hiérarchisée des interactions et des cycles entre les diverses formes de vie, matériaux et technologies.
La création artistique et scientifique de nouveaux matériaux visuels, textes, cartographies, programmes publics, ainsi que d’une publication, d’une plateforme Internet et d’une exposition, vise à étendre à la sphère esthétique et culturelle le concept de ressource, jusqu’à présent principalement valorisé sur le plan économique et industriel.

(Texte : tiré du descriptif des recherches de l’Institut de Théorie de la Haute École d’art de Zurich, https://www.zhdk.ch/forschungsprojekt/world-of-matter-ueber-den-umgang-mit-globalen-ressourcen-426454)