fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion

Year: 2017
Type: Video
Media Format: Video
Duration: 2' each
Dimension: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. S0076
Artist Website: www.fabric.ch

Info
prev
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
Satellite Daylight Pavilion, December 21 loop. Paranoid Shelter and Satellite Daylight 66°24’S by fabric | ch in the background, during Environmental Devices (1997-2017) solo exhibition at Kunshalle Éphémère (Renens, 2018)
prev
next

The two-minute video animations of Satellite Daylight Pavilion (2017) by the Lausanne-based studio for architecture, interaction and research fabric | ch encompass four views of a virtual, interactive teahouse designed for Kensington Gardens in London. They show a platform extending on a north-south axis and tapering towards the south carrying two trapezoid rooms pushed into each other; inside, they are furnished with filigree, modular seating and lounging possibilities. The trapezoid of the northern room widens downwards, while the southern trapezoid widens conversely. They form a conjunction between two Satellite Daylight installations, one of the southern and another of the northern hemisphere: London at northern latitude 51°30'N and Hope Bay, a scientific station in Antarctica, at 63°23'S southern latitude. Where the two trapezoids meet, there is a 4 × 4 metre LED-based light display inside on each side, which extends across the entire wall and forms a kind of virtual window to the respective location. As with Satellite Daylight 47°33'N, which was created to follow the latitude of Basel, specially programmed software calculates the incidence of actual light from a satellite  perspective in both locations: London and Antarctica.

The four video animations cover different lighting moods throughout the year and at various times of day. The first video begins with the exterior view of the northern pavilion on a 21 March morning between 8:00 and 9:30 am. The second video shows the interior of the London pavilion with a view of the light installation at midday from 12:00 to 12:30 on a 12 June. The third video shows the interior of the southern side in the afternoon from 16:00 to 17:30 on a 21 September afternoon. The last video closes the circle with an exterior view of the southern terrace at midnight from 24:00 to 1:30 on a 21 December. Antipodes of northern and southern hemispheres, virtual and natural light, day and night converge in the work’s architecture. The microcosm of the pavilion allows our relationship to the macrocosm of our planet to become physically tangible and more comprehensible.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

fabric | ch – studio for Architecture, interaction & research was founded in Lausanne in 1997 by Christian Babski, Stéphane Carion, Christophe Guignard and Patrick Keller.

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion

Year: 2017
Type: Vidéo
Media Format: Video
Duration: 2' each
Dimension: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. S0076
Artist Website: www.fabric.ch

Info
prev
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight Pavilion, 2017, screenshot
Satellite Daylight Pavilion, December 21 loop. Paranoid Shelter and Satellite Daylight 66°24’S by fabric | ch in the background, during Environmental Devices (1997-2017) solo exhibition at Kunshalle Éphémère (Renens, 2018)
prev
next

L’animation vidéo Satellite Daylight Pavilion (2017), d’une durée de 2 minutes et réalisée par le studio lausannois d’architecture, d’interaction et de recherche fabric | ch, montre quatre vues d’un salon de thé virtuel interactif imaginé pour Kensington Gardens à Londres. Sur une plateforme, qui s’étend le long de l’axe nord-sud et qui se rétrécit vers le sud, se trouvent deux salles trapézoïdales emboîtées l’une dans l’autre. Le trapèze de la salle nord s’élargit vers le bas, tandis que celui de la salle sud se rétrécit vers le bas. Les pièces du salon de thé, meublées de sièges et de sofas modulaires filiformes, sont constituées de l’imbrication de deux installations lumineuses Satellite Daylight représentant chacune l’hémisphère nord et l’hémisphère sud terrestres : Londres à 51°30 de latitude nord et Hope Bay, une station scientifique de l’Antarctique, à 63°23 de latitude sud. À l’intérieur, au point de croisement des deux trapèzes se trouve, de chaque côté, un grand écran LED d’environ 4 x 4 m, qui s’étend sur toute la paroi et constitue une sorte de fenêtre virtuelle vers l’extérieur. Comme pour Satellite Daylight 47°33’N qui représente la latitude de Bâle, un logiciel spécialement programmé pour l’occasion calcule la luminosité depuis la perspective d’un satellite sur les deux sites – la métropole londonienne et le pôle sud – en temps réel.
Les quatre animations vidéo couvrent quatre ambiances lumineuses différentes au cours de l’année et d’une journée. Ainsi, la première vidéo commence avec la vue extérieure du pavillon nord un 21 mars de 8 h à 9 h 30. La deuxième montre l’intérieur du pavillon londonien avec vue sur l’installation lumineuse un 12 juin de 12 h à 12 h 30. La troisième vidéo donne à voir l’intérieur de la partie sud un 21 septembre de 16 h à 17 h 30. La dernière vidéo ferme le cercle avec une vue extérieure de la terrasse sud un 21 décembre de 0 h à 1 h 30 du matin. L’architecture contrastée croise les hémisphères nord et sud, la lumière naturelle et virtuelle, les périodes de jour et de nuit. Au sein du microcosme du pavillon, notre rapport au macrocosme de notre planète devient possible à appréhender et à cerner physiquement.
(Texte : Bettina Back)
 

Artist Bio

Le studio d’architecture, d’interaction et de recherche a été fondé en 1997 par Christian Babski, Stéphane Carion, Christophe Guignard et Patrick Keller à Lausanne.