fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight 47°33‘N

Year: 2020
Type: Interactive Installation
Media Format: Neon lights, flat screen, internet
Acquisition: Commissioned 2019, completed 2020, inv.no. S0075
Artist Website: www.fabric.ch

Info
prev
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
prev
next

Satellite Daylight 47°33'N is an interactive light installation formed by a trapeze of 24 high-voltage neon tubes tapering upwards, created by fabric | ch – a studio for architecture, interaction and research dedicated to investigating contemporary space based in Lausanne. The installation is connected to data collected in real time from online weather stations and meteorological satellite maps, which therefore translate actual global light conditions picked up by satellites orbiting the earth at the latitude of Basel into an endless loop of perceivable electrical intensity.
Beside the light installation, a screen shows a real-time weather map with an imaginary satellite wandering around the world on the same latitude as Basel. By means of specially developed software, information related to actual weather conditions and the brightness of light around the position of the satellite is directly translated to the neon tubes. When the satellite passes through cloud cover, the neon tubes also darken correspondingly; and as it enters the darkness of night, the last neon tube on the front goes out, while the tubes on the back light up, indirectly visible, until the imaginary satellite re-enters daytime and the first neon lights go on. Travelling at an average speed of 7541m/s, a satellite takes about 90 minutes to orbit earth; hence the installation passes through approximately 15 shifts of day and night per exhibition day.
This evaluation and translation of real-time meteorological data enables the artists to abstractly show patterns of actual natural light through an artificial window. As viewers, we are also invited to adopt a perspective from orbit, indicated by the trapezoid tapering of the neon tubes towards the sky. This angle corresponds with a view looking down to the northern hemisphere of the earth’s body. Our reality of the world’s transformation to becoming a global village, where people dart faster and faster around the globe as communication and work processes accelerate, is also reflected in the light. As complex climatic, ecological, geo-political and health policy implications receive increasing public awareness, perhaps this exterior view through the window could sharpen our consciousness to sustainably shape insight and conclusions.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

fabric | ch – studio for Architecture, interaction & research was founded in Lausanne in 1997 by Christian Babski, Stéphane Carion, Christophe Guignard and Patrick Keller.

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein

fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight 47°33‘N

Year: 2020
Type: Installation Interactive
Media Format: Neon lights, flat screen, internet
Acquisition: Commissioned 2019, completed 2020, inv.no. S0075
Artist Website: www.fabric.ch

Info
prev
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
fabric | ch, Satellite Daylight, 46°28’N, 2007, Interactive installation, Exhibition view "Sensing Place", HeK Basel 2012, Phoro: Stefan Holenstein
prev
next

Satellite Daylight 47°33’N est une installation lumineuse interactive de fabric | ch, studio lausannois d’architecture, d’interaction et de recherche. Un trapèze rétréci vers le haut et composé de 24 tubes néon à haute tension, est relié en temps réel à des données de stations météo et de cartes satellites météo collectées sur Internet. L’installation transpose en intensité lumineuse les conditions de luminosité réelles dans le monde, qu’un satellite pourrait enregistrer s’il faisait le tour de la Terre en continu au niveau du parallèle de latitude de Bâle.
Un écran situé à côté de l’installation lumineuse montre la latitude de Bâle sur une carte météorologique actuelle, ainsi que la position mouvante du satellite imaginaire. Ce que ce dernier enregistre en temps réel est directement transposé en intensité lumineuse dans la salle d’exposition à l’aide d’un logiciel spécialement conçu à cet effet. Si une formation nuageuse vient à passer, l’intensité des tubes néon diminue temporairement. Lorsque le satellite se trouve du côté de l’autre hémisphère terrestre, alors l’avant des derniers néons encore éclairés s’éteint. Ainsi, nous voyons la lumière indirecte se déplacer à l’arrière de l’œuvre, avant qu’elle réapparaisse sur le côté gauche et que le jour artificiel se lève à nouveau. Un satellite fait le tour de la terre en 90 min. environ à une vitesse moyenne de 7541 m/s. Ainsi, l’installation reproduit l’alternance jour/nuit une quinzaine de fois par jour d’exposition.
L’exploitation de données météorologiques tirées du web en temps réel permet au studio lausannois de traduire l’orbite imaginaire d’un satellite autour de la Terre au niveau du parallèle de latitude de Bâle en motifs lumineux abstraits directs. Le point de vue de l’orbite, que nous adoptons ainsi avec les artistes, est symbolisé par la forme trapézoïdale des tubes néon rétrécie vers le haut. Elle correspond au resserrement de l’angle de vue sur l’hémisphère terrestre nord et traduit également l’idée que la Terre est un village, qu’il est désormais banal de traverser de part en part, en raison de l’accélération des processus de travail et de communication. Nous vivons une époque dans laquelle les enjeux climatiques, écologiques, géopolitiques et sanitaires complexes de ce nouveau mode de vie se manifestent de plus en plus nettement. Le point de vue extérieur qui nous est ainsi offert pourrait être l’occasion de les appréhender de façon plus responsable et plus durable.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Le studio d’architecture, d’interaction et de recherche a été fondé en 1997 par Christian Babski, Stéphane Carion, Christophe Guignard et Patrick Keller à Lausanne.