Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot

Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter

Year: 2013
Type: App
Media Format: App, 43.2 MB. iOs 8.0, for iPhone, iPad and iTouch
Acquisition: Acquired 2017, inv.no. S0060
Artwork Link: www.raoulpictor.com
Artist Website: www.graumann.net
Artist Website: www.mchrbn.net

Info
prev
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2018, screenshot
Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2019, oil on canvas
prev
next

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the ficticious painter Raoul Pictor, who was programmed with loving irony in 1993, Hervé Graumann and Matthieu Cherubini developed the free app Raoul Pictor Mega Painter (2013). Fresh paint drips from the RP icon of the app that exponentially multiplies the artistic possibilities with which it equips its protagonist and users.
The personal universe of the artist still immersed in the struggle of creation his works, has remained largely the same. His studio has become more spacious and natural daylight enters through a window. In place of a piano, he now has a bed below the window and also a Macintosh Colour Classic computer on a little table. An original work from 1993 hangs beside his door.
Users of the app can choose from over twelve different styles, which occasionally change, as a basis for the creation of artworks. Once a picture is finished, it can be wrapped and transferred to the user’s own private collection. Raoul Pictor’s personal archive, which he has expanded over the past decades, is also open to visitors.
The app’s AR camera function allows users to insert works from their own collection into any photograph on their iPhone or iPad, enabling their appearance in any imaginable setting or even the creation of virtual exhibitions. The digital collages can be shared on Raoul’s own Instagram account rpctrrr. The app also provides an interface for analogue image production. Users can commission the execution of Pictor’s works as oil paintings. Simply specify the size and the finished Pictor painting is sent to your home. The app gives its main protagonist additional narrative depth by evolving his story. At the same time, it turns users into co-authors and virtual curators of their protégé’s art, multiplying his creativity and spreading it out into the world.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Hervé Graumann (*1963), teaches at the Haute Ecole d'Art et de Design (HEAD) Geneva, Switzerland.
Exhibitions: Documenta X, 1997, Biennale de Lyon, 1995, Kunsthalle Bern, 1998, MAMCO Geneva, 2003.

Matthieu Cherubini (*1983) is a designer / technologist from Switzerland based in Beijing. He studied software engineering and media / interaction design at HEAD-Genèva.
Exhibitions: How much of this fiction, 2017, House of Electronic Arts, Basel, Hello, Robot, 2017, Vitra Museum, Weil am Rhein, Adhocracy, 2015, Onassis Cultural Center, Athens.

Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot

Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter

Year: 2013
Type: App
Media Format: App, 43.2 MB. iOs 8.0, for iPhone, iPad and iTouch
Acquisition: Acquired 2017, inv.no. S0060
Artwork Link: www.raoulpictor.com
Artist Website: www.graumann.net
Artist Website: www.mchrbn.net

Info
prev
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Hervé Graumann / Matthieu Cherubini, Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2013, app, screenshot
Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2018, screenshot
Raoul Pictor Mega Painter, 2019, oil on canvas
prev
next

À l’occasion du 20e anniversaire de sa figure artistique Raoul Pictor, programmée avec une aimable ironie en 1993, Hervé Graumann a mis au point avec Matthieu Cherubini l’application gratuite Raoul Pictor Mega Painter (2013). Le titre parle de lui-même. Les possibilités artistiques se sont multipliées de façon exponentielle. Rien que l’icône, avec les initiales RP, dont goutte de la peinture fraîche, illustre l’immense créativité que l’application offre à ses protagonistes, ainsi qu’à ses utilisateurs et utilisatrices.
L’inventaire de notre artiste, toujours aux prises avec chaque œuvre, est demeuré substantiellement inchangé. L’atelier s’est agrandi et s’est vu doté d’une fenêtre, d’où parvient la lumière du jour. Le piano s’est transformé en lit et l’installation de l’œuvre initiale de 1993 sur ordinateur Macintosh Colour Classic se trouve maintenant elle-même dans la pièce, à côté du lit.
Les utilisateurs et utilisatrices peuvent choisir parmi 12 styles différents, qui changent également de temps à autre. Chaque tableau terminé peut être emballé et transféré dans la collection privée. Les archives de Raoul Pictor, qui incluent tous les tableaux réalisés au cours des dernières décennies, peuvent également être visitées.
Les œuvres réalisées peuvent être insérées dans les photos d’un iPhone ou d’un iPad, pour mettre sur pied des expositions entièrement virtuelles ou faire apparaître les tableaux dans n’importe quel endroit du monde. Les collages numériques peuvent être partagés sur le compte Instagram de Raoul : rpctrrr. L’application est également une interface pour la fabrication d’images analogiques. Les utilisateurs et utilisatrices peuvent commander la réalisation d’œuvres de Pictor sous forme de peintures à l’huile. Il suffit de renseigner la taille souhaitée et l’on reçoit chez soi le tableau en question. L’application apporte également une certaine profondeur narrative supplémentaire à son héros, en développant son histoire. Les membres de la communauté participent à l’élaboration du récit et deviennent virtuellement commissaires d’exposition de leur protégé, amplifiant et diffusant ainsi sa créativité.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Hervé Graumann (*1963), enseigne à la Haute École d'Art et de Design (HEAD) de Genève, Suisse.
Expositions: Documenta X, 1997, Biennale de Lyon, 1995, Kunsthalle Bern, 1998, MAMCO Geneva, 2003.

Matthieu Cherubini (*1983) est un designer / technologue suisse installé à Pékin. Il a étudié l’ingénierie logicielle et la conception média / interactive à la HEAD de Genève.
Expositions: How much of this fiction, 2017, Maison des Arts Electroniques, Bâle, Hello, Robot, 2017, Vitra Museum, Weil am Rhein, Adhocracy, 2015, Onassis Cultural Center, Athènes.