Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013

Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects

Year: 2013
Type: Mixed Media Installation
Media Format: 441 Wassertropfen auf hydrophobischer Oberfläche, elektronisch gesteuerte Pipette
Duration: 300‘ Loop
Dimension: 370 x 410 mm
Acquisition: Acquired 2018. Inv. Nr. S0069
Artwork Link: https://www.pelang.ch/installations/positioning_systems_n_6/ positioning_systems_n_6.html
Artist Website: www.pelang.ch

Info
prev
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
prev
next

The Swiss artist Pe Lang creates entire (sound) spaces in his minimalist, kinetic installations. These originate from his occupation with the laws of physics, which he investigates, and with experimental music. The small-format machine Positioning System VI – Falling Objects (2013) is the result of a series of the artist’s physical experiments on the surface tension of water. A relatively large, electronically controlled pipette filled with water is mounted above a small, dark platform, ready to dispense a square of 21 × 21 water drops onto it. The slow and quiet whirring of the high-precision water pump’s mechanical movement is audible throughout, interrupted only when the 21 rows of 21 drops are systematically dispensed with energetic-sounding precise staccato clicks. The acoustic presence of the machinery opens up a specific sound space for the duration of the test arrangement. The water droplets are distributed one by one in even and transient matrix onto the dark base, which is coated with a water-repellent, hydrophobic material. As a result, the water’s surface tension causes them to immediately contract into perfect little spheres that glitteringly balance where they were placed until they have evaporated after about five hours, upon which the pipette starts working again. 

As in all Lang’s works, which, his series of Falling Objects as well as his series of Moving Objects, the arrangements are always clearly visible, nothing is hidden. Nevertheless, these installations develop an intrinsic magical thrall – perhaps precisely because art in real time offers us a particularly strong and poetic position in post-digital art.

 (Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Born 1974 in Sursee, lives and works in Switzerland.

Pe Lang is known for creating minimal kinetic artworks and installations throughout Europe, Asia, and North America.

In a constant process of gaining and losing control, Lang‘s kinetic installation engages a refined and focused exploration of interaction between the kinetic, the visual and the sonic. 

In 2007, Lang received a one year research residency fellowship at the Swiss Center for Electronics and Microtechnology CSEM. Lang was twice honored with the prestigious swiss art award (2009 and 2010). Among other awards, Lang received the mediaprojects award in 2005, 2008 and 2011 from the Swiss Federal Department of Culture.

Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013

Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects

Year: 2013
Type: Installation Mixed Media
Media Format: 441 Wassertropfen auf hydrophobischer Oberfläche, elektronisch gesteuerte Pipette
Duration: 300‘ Loop
Dimension: 370 x 410 mm
Acquisition: Acquired 2018. Inv. Nr. S0069
Artwork Link: https://www.pelang.ch/installations/positioning_systems_n_6/ positioning_systems_n_6.html
Artist Website: www.pelang.ch

Info
prev
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
Pe Lang, Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects, 2013
prev
next

L’artiste suisse Pe Lang met en scène des espaces (sonores) entiers avec ses installations cinétiques minimalistes. Les œuvres émanent de son intérêt pour la musique expérimentale et pour les lois de la physique, qu’il teste lui-même. La petite machine Positioning Systems VI – Falling Objects est elle aussi issue d’une série d’expériences physiques de l’artiste portant sur la tension superficielle de l’eau. Une grande pipette commandée par système électronique et un réservoir d’eau sont montés au-dessus d’une petite plate-forme sombre. La pipette dépose 21 x 21 gouttes d’eau pour former un carré. Le mouvement mécanique de la pompe à eau de haute précision ronronne doucement et lentement, jusqu’à ce que la pipette se positionne et commence à déposer 21 rangées de 21 gouttes, produisant ainsi une série de clics énergiques et précis, semblables à un staccato. La présence acoustique du dispositif fait éclore un univers sonore spécifique qui n’existe que pendant la durée de l’expérience. Le socle sombre, où est déposée la matrice éphémère et régulière de gouttes d’eau, est revêtu d’un matériau hydrophobe. La tension superficielle des gouttes permet ainsi de maintenir celles-ci sous forme de billes parfaites, qui étincellent sur leur support jusqu’à leur évaporation totale, environ cinq heures plus tard. La pipette recommence alors son travail.

Tous les travaux de l’artiste, composés des séries Falling Objects et Moving Objects, reposent sur un agencement clair, où rien n’est dissimulé. Pourtant – ou peut-être justement pour cette raison –, ces installations dégagent une magie intrinsèque. L’art en temps réel devient une prise de position forte et poétique de l’art post-numérique.

(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Né en 1974 à Sursee, vit et travaille à Berlin et Zürich.

Pe Lang est connu pour ses œuvres d’art et ses installations minimales cinétiques dans toute l’Europe, l’Asie et l’Amérique du nord.

Soumises à un processus constant de perte et de gain de contrôle, les installations cinétiques de Lang s’attachent à explorer en profondeur et de façon ciblée les interactions entre mouvement, visuel et son.

En 2007, Lang a obtenu une bourse d’un an pour un séjour de recherche au Centre suisse d’électronique et de microtechnique (CSEM). Il a été deux fois lauréat du prestigieux Schweizer Kunstpreis (2009 et 2010). Parmi d’autres distinctions, Lang a obtenu en 2005, 2008 et 2011 le mediaproject award de l’Office fédéral de la culture