!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling

Year: 2007
Type: Appropriation Art Hacking Performance installation
Dimension: variable
Acquisition: Dauerleihgabe der Bundeskunstsammlung seit 2020, Inv.Nr. S0064.
Artist Website: wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org

Info
prev
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
prev
next

Opera Calling is a hacking performance and installation initially created by Mediengruppe Bitnik as part of an exhibition at Cabaret Voltaire, Zurich in 2007 (9–26 May). The performance consisted of several bugs hidden in the auditorium of the Zurich Opera House that caused the transmission of live recordings of operas performed during this period to random telephone numbers of Zurich residents listed in the telephone book. The installation at Cabaret Voltaire was composed of hundreds of telephone receivers dangling from the ceiling, with which viewers could follow these calls. 90 hours of opera were broadcast live to 4363 households before the managers of the opera succeeded in discovering all the hidden bugs.
In this work, the artists not only appropriated property of high culture and transferred it to a low medium, but also crossed an explicitly non-spoken experience with a medium of communication made expressly for the transmission of speech. The hacked audience, rather than just being a recipient of the opera, unwittingly became a commentator of the musical experience, while in a public museum space visitors to the exhibition bore witness to many an entertaining, private exploration of the medium of opera by people at home gathered around their telephone receiver.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Mediengruppe Bitnik is a collaboration between the artists Carmen Weisskopf and Domagoj Smoljo. Their accomplices are the London filmmaker and researcher Adnan Hadzi and the reporter Daniel Ryser. Their contemporary practice is located in digital media (working in and with the internet ) and its influence on the transformation of physical space. They deliberately play with elements of a loss of control to question established structures and mechanisms.
Carmen Weisskopf, 1976, Switzerland and Domagoj Smoljo, 1979, Croatia live and work in Zurich and Berlin.

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling

Year: 2007
Type: Appropriation artistique performance de piratage installation
Dimension: variable
Acquisition: Dauerleihgabe der Bundeskunstsammlung seit 2020, Inv.Nr. S0064.
Artist Website: wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org

Info
prev
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Opera Calling, 2007
prev
next

L’installation et performance de piratage Opera Calling a vu le jour dans le cadre d’une exposition du Cabaret Voltaire à Zurich. Du 9 au 26 mai 2007, Bitnik a caché dans l’auditorium de l’opéra de Zurich plusieurs micros qui ont retransmis des captations live des opéras joués pendant cette période, par des appels téléphoniques aléatoires à des numéros inscrits dans l’annuaire de la ville. Une installation composée de centaines de combinés téléphoniques qui pendent du plafond permet au public du centre culturel de suivre les appels. 90 heures d’opéra ont été retransmises en live dans 4363 foyers le temps que le personnel de l’opéra ne découvre tous les micros.
Les artistes se sont non seulement approprié un élément culturel élitiste pour le retransmettre par un support populaire, mais ont en outre croisé une expérience expressément non verbale avec un support de communication. L’auditoire pirate peut, à l’inverse de celui présent dans la salle, commenter l’événement musical, et le public de l’exposition, présent dans l’espace du Cabaret Voltaire, devient témoin d’une forme de confrontation privée et divertissante avec le média qu’est l’opéra, dans le cercle familial restreint autour du haut-parleur téléphonique.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

!Mediengruppe Bitnik est composé de Carmen Weisskopf et Domagoj Smoljo. Leurs complices sont le réalisateur et chercheur londonien Adnan Hadzi et le reporter Daniel Ryser. Ces artistes contemporain·es travaillent sur et avec Internet. Leur pratique est axée sur le numérique et son influence sur la modification des espaces physiques. Leur travail repose volontairement sur la perte de contrôle, afin de remettre en question les structures et les mécanismes établis.
Carmen Weisskopf, 1976, Suisse et Domagoj Smoljo, 1979, Croatie vivent et travaillent à Zurich et Berlin.