knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002

knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York version)

Year: 2002
Type: Internet Artwork Interactive Installation
Media Format: Server: apache, mysql, python script, python cgi scripts; Client: HTMIL, flash (gnash) plugin; unitedwehack.ath.cx
Dimension: Variable
Edition: 3 + 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0024.
Artwork Link: http://moc.hek.ch
Artist Website: http://knowbotiq.net

Info
prev
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002
prev
next

Minds of Concern, a project originally conceived as an exhibition for the New Museum, New York, 2002, consisted of an installation and a Net-based work. Using the Web interface of the Public Domain Scanner, visitors to the exhibition could select from certain groups on the project Website, such as movements or NGOs like Oxfam, the Freedom from Debt Coalition and COSATU, or media activists and artists who express critical views of global activities of the Internet community. Using the Public Domain Scanner’s virtual slot machine, visitors could «win» an NGO or an artist, as a mind of concern, and then can initiate network scans that analyze the security systems of the target server. These scans detect risk factors that make the server vulnerable to hackers or that can be used to determine whether the site is secure. The results of the scans were displayed in the exhibition using a light matrix that extended through the space, providing a visual indication of a server’s strength or weakness. 
Today, the website Minds of Concern presents an archived version of the performance described above. The user can select an NGO to be scanned, but the website returns an archived scan done in 2002. The artists took this decision as they repeatedly encountered problems with networks that prevented port scanning as precursors to attacks. 
http://krcf.knowbotiq.net/MINDS_NEWYORK/1MoC0.htm gives an account of such an incident at the New Museum in 2002.

Artist Bio

Knowbotic research (Christian Huebler, Alexander Tuchacek, Yvonne Wilhelm) was founded in 1991. Since 2009/2010, members of the group work independently as knwobotiq (Huebler/Wilhelm) and as Alexander Tuchacek.

knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002

knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York version)

Year: 2002
Type: Art Internet Installation Interactive
Media Format: Server: apache, mysql, python script, python cgi scripts; Client: HTMIL, flash (gnash) plugin; unitedwehack.ath.cx
Dimension: Variable
Edition: 3 + 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0024.
Artwork Link: http://moc.hek.ch
Artist Website: http://knowbotiq.net

Info
prev
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002
prev
next

Le projet Minds of Concern, qui a été conçu lors d’une exposition au New Museum de New York en 2002, reposai sur une installation et des œuvres en ligne. L’interface web du Public Domain Scanner permettait aux visiteurs de l’exposition de choisir différents groupes sur le site Internet du projet, tels que des mouvements ou des ONG comme Oxfam, the Freedom from Debt Coalition et COSATU, mais également des activistes des médias ou des artistes, qui s’expriment de façon critique sur les activités mondiales de la communauté Internet. Par le biais d’une machine à sous virtuelle du Public Domain Scanner, les visiteurs pouvaient « gagner » une ONG ou un artiste comme cible – ou 'mind of concern' – et ordonner des analyses réseau portant sur les systèmes de sécurité du serveur concerné. Ces analyses détectent les facteurs de risque susceptibles de rendre ce dernier vulnérable aux piratages et permettent de déterminer si le site Internet correspondant est sécurisé. Les résultats de l’analyse étaient représentés dans l’exposition sous forme d’une matrice simple qui s’étendait dans l’espace et indiquait visuellement la force ou la vulnérabilité d’un serveur.
Aujourd'hui, le site web Minds of Concern présente une version archivée de la performance décrite ci-dessus. L'utilisateur peut sélectionner une ONG à scanner, mais le site web renvoie un scan archivé réalisé en 2002. Les artistes ont pris cette décision car ils ont rencontré à plusieurs reprises des problèmes avec des réseaux qui empêchaient le balayage des ports comme précurseurs d'attaques. http://krcf.knowbotiq.net/MINDS_NEWYORK/1MoC0.htm donne un compte rendu d'un tel incident au Nouveau Musée en 2002.

Artist Bio

knowbotic research (Christian Huebler, Alexander Tuchacek, Yvonne Wilhelm) a été fondé en 1991. Depuis 2009/2010, les membres du groupe travaillent de façon indépendante en tant que knwobotiq (Huebler/Wilhelm) et Alexander Tuchacek.