Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist

Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda

Year: 2015
Type: Installation Software
Media Format: Digitales Hologram, LED Moving Head
Dimension: 29 x 45 cm
Edition: 2
Credits: Mineral Courtesy des Musée de Minéralogie MINES ParisTech
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0071
Artwork Link: http://www.alanbogana.com/artwork/2015/gogotta
Artist Website: www.alanbogana.com

Info
prev
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
prev
next

Alan Bogana’s digital hologram La Gogotta Desnuda (2015) features a 3D scan of a Gogotte mineral from the Musée de mineralogy in Paris, shown in a darkened exhibition room where an LED spotlight slowly explores the image. The viewer’s attention is drawn to flesh-coloured organic volume conglomerates emerging from the image space, which initially call to mind bulges of flesh or internal organs. Here, Bogana unmasks our anthropocentrism and how humans always serve as our central reference point in our perception of the world. Although we see dead rock, its biomorphic forms tempt us to interpret it as something living. The title, which could translate as the naked or unclothed gogotta, already alludes to this.
Gogottes are rare minerals consisting of tiny quartz crystals and calcium carbonate. Their remarkable sculptural forms result from a direct transformation of the movement of water washing into an underground sand pit, which is captured in the hardening sand. The way these rocks embody the invisible, the movement of flowing of the water, and analogously translate it into stone, without technical aids, is where Bogana’s fascination lies, and which he picks up in his work.
Grasping the rock’s whole biomorphic form requires viewers to assemble the various sections in their minds. This stands in stark contrast to the larger than life precision and physical presence of the image, which seems to promise complete clarity about what is being depicted. The holographic representation itself is a digital reconstruction using light waves. More precisely, it is based on an interference pattern of two light waves, from the meeting of the object wave, in this case that of the mineral, with a known reference wave. Like the depicted mineral, it renders something normally invisible to the human eye visible.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Alan Bogana was born in 1979 in Switzerland. He is a multidisciplinary artist based in Geneva, Switzerland, who’s art practice involves sculpture, computer graphics, electronics, time-based media and holography. His works are usually presented in the form of installations.



During the last years his research has focused on the exploration, real and fictional, of the behavior of light and its interactions with matter. He investigates this broad field of study through various means, such as computer graphics simulations of impossible phenomena or the manipulation of translucent, phosphorescent and holographic materials.

Alan Bogana completed a Fine Arts Diploma with honours at the Geneva University of Art and Design, a specialization in computer graphics as well as in artistic research methodologies at the Zürich University of Art and Design. He has exhibited in Europe, the United States, the Emirates and South Africa. He has been artist in residence at the Swiss Institute in Rome, the Cité internationale des arts in Paris, the Sommerakademie Zentrum Paul Klee in Bern, in Cape Town with Pro Helvetia and in Zug with the Landis & Gyr Foundation.

Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist

Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda

Year: 2015
Type: hologramme digital
Media Format: Digitales Hologram, LED Moving Head
Dimension: 29 x 45 cm
Edition: 2
Credits: Mineral Courtesy des Musée de Minéralogie MINES ParisTech
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0071
Artwork Link: http://www.alanbogana.com/artwork/2015/gogotta
Artist Website: www.alanbogana.com

Info
prev
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
Alan Bogana, La Gogotta Desnuda, 2015, Digital hologram, Photo courtesy the artist
prev
next

L’hologramme numérique La Gogotta Desnuda (2015) d’Alan Bogana, artiste tessinois basé à Genève, donne à voir la représentation 3D d’une gogotte, minéral provenant de la collection du Musée de Minéralogie de Paris. Dans la salle d’exposition obscure, le faisceau lumineux d’un projecteur LED balaye lentement l’image. Les fragments montrent des volumes organiques de couleur chair, qui émergent de l’image et font tout d’abord penser à des bourrelets de peau ou à des organes internes. Alan Bogana démasque ici notre anthropocentrisme, qui place l’humain au centre du système de référence de notre perception du monde. Bien que la roche qui nous est présentée soit inanimée, nous interprétons ses formes biomorphes comme celles d’un objet vivant. Le titre lui-même, qui signifie « la gogotte dénudée », joue sur cette ambiguïté.
Ces minéraux rares sont composés de minuscules cristaux de quartz et de carbonate de calcium. Leurs formes sculpturales à couper le souffle sont la manifestation directe du mouvement de l’eau au sein d’une couche de sable souterraine : la circulation du fluide a été inscrite dans le sable solidifié. Voilà ce qui explique l’intérêt de l’artiste pour les gogottes : il s’agit de mouvements transformés en pierres. Elles incarnent, sans outil technique et de façon quasi analogue, l’invisible, le flux de l’eau.
Le public doit reconstituer a posteriori l’apparence biomorphe de la gogotte dans son ensemble à partir des différents fragments. La tâche n’est pas aisée, car la présence presque hyperréaliste et tangible de l’image semble livrer une représentation claire de l’objet. La reproduction holographique repose quant à elle sur une reconstruction numérique par ondes lumineuses. Il s’agit, plus précisément, d’un motif d’interférences de deux ondes lumineuses, qui émane de la rencontre de l’onde d’un objet – ici celle du minéral – et d’une onde de référence. Tout comme la pierre représentée, le procédé artistique est la transcription visible d’un phénomène qui échappe à notre perception.
(Texte : Bettina Back)
 

Artist Bio

Alan Bogana est né en Suisse en 1979. Artiste multidisciplinaire, il est basé à Genève en Suisse. Sa pratique artistique inclut la sculpture, l’infographie, l’électronique, les médias temporels et l’holographie. Ses travaux sont généralement présentés sous forme d’installations.

Ces dernières années, sa recherche s’est axée sur l’exploration, réelle et fictionnelle, du comportement de la lumière et de ses interactions avec la matière. Il examine ce vaste champ d’étude à travers divers moyens, comme la simulation infographique de phénomènes impossibles ou la manipulation de matériaux translucides, phosphorescents et holographiques.

Alan Bogana est titulaire d’un diplôme de Beaux-Arts obtenu avec mention à la Haute école d’arts et de design de Genève, ainsi que de spécialisations en infographie et en méthodologie de recherche artistique de la Haute école d’art de Zurich. Il a exposé ses œuvres en Europe, aux États-Unis, aux Émirats arabes unis et en Afrique du Sud. Il a également été artiste en résidence à l’Institut Suisse de Rome, à la Cité Internationale des Arts de Paris, au Sommerakademie Zentrum Paul Klee de Berne, au Cap avec Pro Helvetia et à Zoug avec la fondation Landis & Gyr.