Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.

Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions

Year: 2020
Type: Mixed Media Internet Installation Software
Media Format: 15 Flip-Dot modules (7×7 pixels per module), 2 LCD Modules (36×52 pixels per module), 6 LED RGB modules (16×16 pixels per module), 1 24" TFT Display module (1920×1200 pixels), controllers and drivers, custom-made backlight, 5 micro-computers, internet connection
Duration: Echtzeit
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
prev
next

Interdisciplinary Swiss artist Jürg Lehni’s installation Four Transitions (2020) consists of four boxes mounted on a wall, each of which shows the process of a number being created in a distinctly different colour and technology. 

In the context of new media and internet-based art, where definitions of art are open and the relation of moving image and work structures to the viewer are central, the work’s performative aspect comes to the fore, the question of how things are represented? Since Postmodernism, looking at the semiotic aspect of art, the question of what is represented, has proven to be either too straightforward or too ubiquitous to really do justice to the work. The «What?» here is easily answered: Four Transitions represents a real-time digital clock. The work reveals its depth more clearly when this simplicity of the semiotic aspect is juxtaposed with the complexity of the work’s performativity. 

The large black boxes, almost equal in size, were custom-made for the technology they house. Viewed from left to right, they give a diachronic summary of the technological development of displays in public space since the 1950s. Each contains a microcomputer that communicates with the others; one is online to obtain the precise time at the current location. All the displays calculate their representation in real time, rebuilding each digit once a minute. This results in a quasi-infinitely changing interaction of the four displays in real time. In addition to the coincidence between current time and the historicity of the technologies, the self-reflexive aspect of the work lies in the constriction of the duration of the work to the real time that viewers spend looking at it. 

The first figure is represented by means of a black and white flip-dot technology from the early 1960s. The individual matte panels of the black-and-white dot grid are flipped electromagnetically. They give off the sound of the characteristic click familiar from departure boards at railway stations and airports, for example each minute a one is recreated anew. The contours of the second digit are clearly defined by a violet-blue-white grid of LCD liquid crystals, characterised by the luminous rectangles with rounded corners that have been commonplace in elevators, for example, since the 1970s and 1980s. 

The first number of the minute display is displayed via an early type of LED dot grid in which each dot still consists of a separately controllable red, green and blue lamp, thus enabling colour-intensive op-art transitions during the creation of the numbers. Since the turn of the millennium, the presence of LED displays in public urban spaces has increased. Here, the lively brightness of changing interplay of primary colours contrasts with the monochrome panels of the hour numerals. Finally, the second digit of the minute display uses a contemporary display technology based on TFT thin-film transistors, played by a hardware-accelerated graphics card. However, it too is already being replaced by newer formats available on the market. The contours of this digit, which changes every minute in the softest, almost seamless flow, are fine and show no visible pixel grids, as colour transitions melt into each other in a painterly manner.

The artist’s extensive examination of the specific aesthetic qualities of the individual technologies and external collaboration with specialists, which preceded Four Transitions, are directly transferred to our perception. The work’s embodiment and exploration of the display medium brings both intentional and accidental aesthetic visual languages, that have been used or discovered, to light, such as the soft transition between opaque and transparent of the LCD liquid crystals. 

Four Transitions draws attention to the sensual experience of the aesthetic qualities each technology offers. Be it the hypnotic domino-effect clarity of the matte flip-dot panels, the staggered transitions in the luminous grid of the LCD display, the vivid, rapidly overlapping primary colours of the LCD grids and finally the seductively seamless flowing transitions of the TFT programming. Besides this sensual quality, the 

four historical technologies also carry an emotional presence, recalling familiar situations of existence, depending on the viewer’s experience and subconscious memory. The unmistakable aesthetics, which genuinely arise from the characteristics of the technologies themselves, are immediately accessible in real time.

The work Four Transitions is based on a concept that the artist developed in 2014 in collaboration with Alex Rich.

Text: Bettina Back

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni’s works, which are frequently collaborative and cross-disciplinary, offer reflections on technology, tools and the human condition. They often take the form of platforms and scenarios for production and research, for example his drawing machines HektorRita and Viktor; or as software-based structures and frameworks, such as Paper.jsScriptographer and Vectorama.org, which are platforms designed to combine and explore manual and digital ways of working with graphical form and expression.

Lehni’s work has been on show internationally in group and solo shows at the MoMA New York, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou, Institute of Contemporary Arts London, Victoria and Albert Museum, Design Museum London, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, among others. In 2015, his work Viktor was acquired for the SFMOMA collection. 

In Switzerland he has been running an independent studio since 2002, whilst also travelling and working around the globe: as Associate Professor of Interaction Design at the Parsons School of Art, Media, & Technology in New York in 2016–2017, the Arts Council Visiting Professor at the UCLA Department of Design Media Arts in 2012— 2013, running his own studio in London in 2008—2011, on a Swiss Design Awards residency in New York in 2007, and on a research residency at Sony SET Studio in Tokyo in 2006.

Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.

Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions

Year: 2020
Type: Installation Mixed Media
Media Format: 15 Flip-Dot modules (7×7 pixels per module), 2 LCD Modules (36×52 pixels per module), 6 LED RGB modules (16×16 pixels per module), 1 24" TFT Display module (1920×1200 pixels), controllers and drivers, custom-made backlight, 5 micro-computers, internet connection
Duration: Echtzeit
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude, Detail. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
Jürg Lehni, Four Transitions, 2020, Installationsansicht, Christoph Merian Stiftung – Hauptgebäude. Foto: Jürg Lehni.
prev
next

L’installation Four Transitions, créée en 2020 par l’artiste suisse interdisciplinaire Jürg Lehni, est composée de quatre boîtes-présentoirs fixées à une paroi. Sur chacune d’elles apparaît un chiffre en formation, caractérisé par des couleurs et des techniques différentes.

L’univers des nouveaux médias et de l’art d’Internet est axé sur une conception ouverte des œuvres et sur le rapport qu’entretiennent les structures artistiques animées avec leurs destinataires. L’aspect performatif de l’œuvre est par conséquent de plus en plus prépondérant, soulevant la question « Comment représente-t-on ? ». Depuis l’époque postmoderne, l’aspect sémiotique de l’œuvre (« Que représente-t-on ? »), est traité de façon de plus en plus directe ou si universelle et globale qu’il n’est pas véritablement capable de rendre justice à l’œuvre.

Dans le cas de Four Transitions, la réponse à la question « Quoi ? » est relativement évidente : ensemble, les quatre écrans forment l’affichage d’une horloge numérique en temps réel. La profondeur de l’œuvre se déploie d’autant plus nettement lorsque cette simplicité de l’aspect sémiotique est opposée à la complexité multidimensionnelle de sa performativité.

Les boîtes noires, de dimensions quasiment identiques, ont été fabriquées spécifiquement pour les dispositifs techniques qu’elles abritent. Si on les observe de gauche à droite, ces derniers représentent un montage diachronique de l’évolution des techniques d’affichage dans l’espace public depuis les années 1950. Chaque boîte contient un micro-ordinateur et communique avec les autres. L’une d’elles est connectée à Internet, afin de pouvoir se synchroniser avec l’heure du lieu d’exposition. Tous les écrans calculent leur affichage en temps réel, chaque chiffre étant reconstitué une fois par minute. Il en résulte une interaction des quatre écrans en transformation quasi constante et en temps réel. Outre la superposition de l’heure actuelle et de l’historicité des technologies, c’est en cela que réside l’aspect autoréflexif de l’œuvre : le rapprochement de la durée de l’œuvre et du temps de passage de ses destinataires.

Le premier chiffre est représenté grâce à la technique des girouettes à pastilles noires et blanches, datant du début des années 1960. La rotation des plaquettes mates qui constituent le motif de points en noir et blanc est assurée par un dispositif électromagnétique. Les cliquetis caractéristiques, que la plupart d’entre nous associent aux panneaux d’affichage des gares et des aéroports, accompagnent le chiffre un, qui apparaît et disparaît sans cesse. Le deuxième chiffre est constitué du quadrillage violet, bleu et blanc caractéristique des écrans à cristaux liquides (LCD). Ces rectangles aux angles arrondis nous accompagnent dans les ascenseurs depuis les années 1970-80. Les contours des chiffres sont nettement définis par le quadrillage.

Le premier chiffre des minutes est indiqué par une grille de points LED de première génération. Chaque point est composé d’une petite lampe rouge, verte et bleue pouvant être contrôlée séparément et permettant de réaliser des transitions colorées Op Art lors de l’apparition des chiffres. Les panneaux LED grand format ont commencé à peupler l’espace public à l’arrivée du nouveau millénaire. Le dynamisme de l’interaction changeante des couleurs primaires contraste avec les panneaux monochromes des chiffres de l’heure.

Enfin, le deuxième chiffre des minutes repose sur la technologie actuelle d’un écran à transistor en couches minces (TFT), contrôlé par une carte graphique à accélération matérielle. De nouveaux formats de ce dispositif lui-même sont cependant déjà disponibles sur le marché. Ce changement de chiffre à une cadence minutée est celui qui s’effectue le plus en douceur, de manière quasi continue. Les contours sont doux, dépourvus de pixels visibles, les couleurs se fondent de l’une à l’autre dans un style pictural.

L’artiste reporte directement sur notre perception son approche intensive, préalable à l’œuvre, des qualités esthétiques spécifiques aux différentes technologies et résultant de collaborations extérieures avec des spécialistes. Son travail sur ces supports a exploité ou découvert des éléments du langage figuratif volontaires ou fortuits, tels que la transition douce entre opacité et transparence des cristaux liquides. 

Four Transitions permet au public d’appréhender par les sens les qualités esthétiques des technologies : l’effet domino réduit et hypnotisant du panneau de girouettes à pastilles, les transitions échelonnées de la grille lumineuse caractéristique de l’écran LCD, le dynamisme et la rapidité des changements de couleurs primaires de la grille LCD et, enfin, le fondu attrayant de la programmation TFT. Four Transitions incarne la présence sensorielle et, pour certaines personnes, émotionnelle de ces quatre technologies historiques. L’esthétique unique qui émane naturellement des caractéristiques des technologies s’appréhende de façon directe et en temps réel.

L’œuvre Four Transitions est basée sur un concept mis au point par l’artiste en 2014, en collaboration avec Alex Rich. 

Texte : Bettina Back

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni réalise des travaux collaboratifs multidisciplinaires, portant sur les nuances de la technologie, les outils et la condition humaine. Ses œuvres prennent souvent la forme de plates-formes et de scénarios destinés à la production et à la recherche, tels que les machines à dessiner HektorRita et Viktor, ainsi que de structures et de systèmes basés sur des logiciels, notamment Paper.jsScriptographer et Vectorama.org. Ces plates-formes sont conçues pour combiner et explorer des façons de travailler avec la forme et l’expression graphique, tant sur des supports informatiques que manuels.

Jürg Lehni a présenté ses travaux dans le cadre d’expositions collectives et individuelles dans le monde entier, au MoMA de New York, au Walker Art Center, au Centre Pompidou, à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts de Londres, au Victoria and Albert Museum, au Design Museum de Londres, à la Kunsthalle St. Gallen, etc. En 2015, le SFMOMA a fait l’acquisition de son œuvre Viktor pour l’intégrer à sacollection. 

Il dirige un atelier indépendant en Suisse depuis 2002, mais a travaillé et vécu en de nombreux lieux de par le monde : professeur associé d’Interaction Design à la Parsons School of Art, Media, & Technology de New York en 2016 – 2017, professeur invité de l’Arts Council au Department of Design Media Arts de UCLA en 2012 – 2013, directeur de son propre studio à Londres en 2008 – 2011, en résidence du Swiss Design Awards à New York en 2007 et en résidence de recherche au Sony SET Studio de Tokyo en 2006.