Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs

Type: Video Software
Media Format: Java Software ,Quick Time Animation S/W, Flood Fill Algorithmus, selbstentwickelte Animationssoftware in Java, Verben aus Richard Serras Verb List, digitale Schrift FF Offline
Dimension: variabel
Edition: Edition von 6, plus 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
prev
next

Jürg Lehni uses the Flood Fill algorithm that he already modified and further developed for his 2003 work Flood Fill – Global Warning to visualize verbs from Richard Serra’s Verb List of 1967-68. On two pieces of paper, which are now part of the collection of MoMA in New York, Serra listed 84 verbs and 24 contexts in which the verbs could be found. Based on his famous slogan “Drawing is a verb”, Serra saw the list as a stock of actions related to oneself and to the material, location and process of art.

The FF Offline font that Lehni employed here is already influenced by its favored use by the American conceptual artist Laurence Weiner for his books and installations. In a “software that produces a self-generating and always-varying animation sequence every time it runs”, as the artist puts it, verbs like TWIST, MIX, DIG or SPILL are projected onto a screen placed in the corner. While Lehni’s Global Warning was about the digital drawing of hand-written contents, here the concept of digital drawing itself is explored. The result is not drawings, as in Global Warning, but different ways of referring to drawing.  

(Text: Bettina Back)

 

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni works collaboratively across disciplines, dealing with the nuances of technology, tools and the human condition. His works often take the form of platforms and scenarios for production, such as the drawing machines HektorRita and Viktor, as well as software-based structures and frameworks, including Paper.jsScriptographer and Vectorama.org.

Lehni has shown work internationally in group and solo shows at the MoMA New York, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou, Institute of Contemporary Arts London, Victoria and Albert Museum, Design Museum London, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, etc. In 2014, his work Viktorhas been acquired by the SFMOMA for their collection. 

He runs an independent practise in Switzerland since 2002, but has lived and worked in many places around the globe: As the Arts Council Visiting Professor at the UCLA Department of Design Media Arts in 2012 ~ 2013, running his own studio in London in 2008 ~ 2011, on a Swiss Design Awards residency in New York in 2007, and on a research residency at Sony SET Studio in Tokyo in 2006.

Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016

Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs

Type: Vidéo Animation
Media Format: Java Software ,Quick Time Animation S/W, Flood Fill Algorithmus, selbstentwickelte Animationssoftware in Java, Verben aus Richard Serras Verb List, digitale Schrift FF Offline
Dimension: variabel
Edition: Edition von 6, plus 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
Jürg Lehni, Flood Fill – Verbs, 2016
prev
next

Jürg Lehni utilise l’algorithme de remplissage par diffusion modifié par ses soins, déjà développé en 2003 pour son travail Flood Fill – Global Warning, pour la représentation graphique de termes de la Verb list de Richard Serra datant de 1967-68. Serra avait alors répertorié 84 verbes et 24 contextes dans lesquels ceux-ci sont susceptibles d’apparaître, sur deux feuilles qui appartiennent aujourd’hui à la collection du MoMa à New York. Conformément à sa célèbre citation «drawing is a verb», Serra considérait cette liste comme une série d’actions se référant à un soi-même, un matériau, un lieu et un processus artistique.

La police FF Offline utilisée par Lehni est déjà empreinte de l’utilisation privilégiée qu’en fait l’artiste conceptuel américain Laurence Weiner dans ses livres et ses installations. Lehni explique: grâce à un «logiciel qui produit une séquence d’animation générée automatiquement et toujours différente lors de chaque exécution», les verbes TWIST, MIX, DIG ou SPILL sont projetés sur une toile installée dans un angle. Si l’œuvre Global Warning s’intéressait au dessin numérique de contenus tracés à la main, le présent travail analyse le concept de dessin numérique en lui-même. Ce qui est représenté, ce ne sont pas les images, comme dans Global Warning, mais les différentes façons de les appréhender.

(Texte: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni travaille de manière collaborative dans de nombreuses disciplines. Il s’intéresse aux nuances de la technologie et des outils, ainsi qu’à la condition humaine. Ses œuvres e présentent souvent sous la forme de plateformes et de scénarios, comme les machines à dessiner HektorRita and Viktor, ainsi que des structures et des cadres basés sur des logiciels, notamment Paper.jsScriptographer et Vectorama.org.

Lehni a exposé ses œuvres à l’international, dans le cadre d’événements collectifs ou individuels, au MoMA de New York, au Walker Art Center, au Centre Pompidou, à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts London, au Victoria and Albert Museum, au Design Museum London, à la Kunsthalle St. Gallen, entre autres. En 2014, le SFMOMA a fait l’acquisition de son œuvre Viktor, qui a alors intégré sa collection. 

Il dirige un atelier indépendant en Suisse depuis 2002, mais a vécu et travaillé aux quatre coins du monde: en tant que professeur invité lors de l’Arts Council du département Design Media Arts de UCLA en 2012-2013, à la tête de son propre studio à Londres de 2008 – 2011, lors d’une résidence des Swiss Design Awards à New York en 2007 et à l’occasion d’une résidence de recherche au Sony SET Studio de Tokyo en 2006.