Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning

Year: 2003
Type: Video Animation
Media Format: Quick Time Animation S/W, Flood Fill Algorithmus, selbstentwickelte Animationssoftware in Macromedia Director, gescannte Handzeichnungen
Dimension: variabel
Edition: Edition von 6, plus 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. Nr. S0045
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
prev
next

With the six video animations that make up Flood Fill – Global Warning, the artists Jürg Lehni and Guy Meldem announce an absurd warning: “Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!” The vital energy is visualized as an empty, geometric net, which a cat, for instance, pulls out of a woman’s brain. 

With the help of a slowed-down Flood Fill algorithm that was already used early on to visualize computer graphics, Lehni builds up the pictures by having the layers of white, gray and black image planes virtually flow into each other, until the original hand-written message becomes visible. The development of the images is always accompanied by a hammering electronic sound. This underlines the uncomfortable urgency of the message, whose absurdity replaces current warnings of flood catastrophes or global warming referred to in the words of the title. Lehni uses an antiquated form of digital drawing as a sort of shading, in order to reenact hand-drawn contents. This points indirectly to the urgent problem of climate change by ironically aiming past it and instead highlighting a meaningless, nonsensical message. 

(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni works collaboratively across disciplines, dealing with the nuances of technology, tools and the human condition. His works often take the form of platforms and scenarios for production, such as the drawing machines HektorRita and Viktor, as well as software-based structures and frameworks, including Paper.jsScriptographer and Vectorama.org.

Lehni has shown work internationally in group and solo shows at the MoMA New York, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, Centre Pompidou, Paris, Institute of Contemporary Art, Victoria and Albert Museum and Design Museum in London, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, and others. In 2014, his work Viktor was acquired by the SFMOMA for their collection. 

Although he has had an independent practice in Switzerland since 2002, he has lived and worked in many places around the globe: in Los Angeles as the Arts Council Visiting Professor at the UCLA Department of Design Media Arts in 2012 – 2013, in London running his own studio between 2008 and 2011, in New York on a Swiss Design Awards residency in 2007, and in Tokyo on a research residency at Sony SET Studio in 2006.

The Lausanne graphic designer Guy Meldem also works with Sami Benhadj and Tarik Hayward under the label Körner Union.

Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003

Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning

Year: 2003
Type: Vidéo Animation
Media Format: Quick Time Animation S/W, Flood Fill Algorithmus, selbstentwickelte Animationssoftware in Macromedia Director, gescannte Handzeichnungen
Dimension: variabel
Edition: Edition von 6, plus 1 AP
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. Nr. S0045
Artist Website: www.juerglehni.com

Info
prev
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
Jürg Lehni / Guy Meldem, Flood Fill – Global Warning, 2003
prev
next

Avec les six animations vidéo Flood Fill – Global Warning, les artistes Jürg Lehni et Guy Meldem formulent une mise en garde absurde: «Animals & Plants steal our vital energy! Act before it’s too late!» L’énergie vitale est ainsi représentée comme une toile géométrique vide, aspirée du cerveau d’une femme par un chat.

Les images sont générées progressivement, car Lehni recourt à un algorithme de remplissage par diffusion – utilisé depuis longtemps dans le domaine de la représentation graphique sur ordinateur – et laisse ainsi apparaître une à une les couches blanches, grises et noires de l’image, jusqu’à ce que le message initialement réalisé à la main devienne déchiffrable. L’émergence des images est toujours accompagnée d’un son électronique martelant. Celui-ci souligne l’urgence gênante du message, dont l’absurdité apparaît face aux mises en garde actuelles concernant les risques d’inondation ou le réchauffement climatique, évoquées par le champ lexical du titre. Lehni utilise une forme désuète de dessin numérique évoquant les hachures, pour remettre en scène les contenus dessinés à la main. Cette œuvre fait indirectement référence au problème urgent du changement climatique, en ratant sa cible de façon ironique et en véhiculant à la place un message vide de sens et absurde.

(Texte: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Jürg Lehni travaille de manière collaborative dans de nombreuses disciplines. Il s’intéresse aux nuances de la technologie et des outils, ainsi qu’à la condition humaine. Ses œuvres e présentent souvent sous la forme de plateformes et de scénarios de production, comme les machines à dessiner HektorRita et Viktor, ainsi que des structures et des cadres basés sur des logiciels, notamment Paper.js,Scriptographer et Vectorama.org.

Lehni a exposé ses œuvres à l’international, dans le cadre d’événements collectifs ou individuels, au MoMA de New York, au Walker Art Center, au Centre Pompidou, à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts London, au Victoria and Albert Museum, au Design Museum London, à la Kunsthalle St. Gallen, entre autres. En 2014, le SFMOMA a fait l’acquisition de son œuvre Viktor, qui a alors intégré sa collection. 

Il dirige un atelier indépendant en Suisse depuis 2002, mais a vécu et travaillé aux quatre coins du monde: en tant que professeur invité lors de l’Arts Council du département Design Media Arts de UCLA en 2012-2013, à la tête de son propre studio à Londres de 2008 à 2011, lors d’une résidence des Swiss Design Awards à New York en 2007 et à l’occasion d’une résidence de recherche au Sony SET Studio de Tokyo en 2006.

Le graphiste lausannois Guy Meldem travaille également en collaboration avec Sami Benhadj et Tarik Hayward sous le label Körner Union.