Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist

Fragmentin, Displuvium

Year: 2019
Type: Installation Electronics Software Mixed Media
Media Format: 2 screens, weathering steel, black aluminium, 3D printed nozzles, water pumps, electronic components, computer, water
Duration: C. 20‘ loop
Dimension: 205 x 100 x 15 cm
Credits: In collaboration with Renaud Defrancesco
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. S0079
Artwork Link: https://www.fragment.in/artworks/displuvium/
Artist Website: www.fragment.in

Info
prev
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, Ausstellung Schweizer Medienkunst: !Mediengruppe Bitnik, Fragmentin, Lauren Huret – Pax Art Awards 2018, HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel). Foto: Franz Wamhof
prev
next

Fragmentin is a collective formed by the artists Laura Perrenoud, David Colombini and Marc Dubois, based in Lausanne. In Displuvium (2019), they investigate man’s efforts to control nature, in this case through weather modification in a process called cloud seeding. 
A cable connects a large oval water basin on the floor to two screens on the wall. In random order, these show twelve episodes of exceptional precipitation, some of natural origin and others results of meteorological modification since the 1940s until today. We see, for example, how in 1992 Russia ensured that rain would not disrupt the celebrations during a military parade in Moscow by spraying chemicals into the clouds from planes. Or how in 2008 in Beijing, after a long period of drought, the state set out to trigger rainfall and instead caused a devastating snowstorm to cover the city. 
The bottom of the installation’s water basin is covered with invisible underwater nozzles that create the impression of raindrops falling into the basin. In ancient Rome, the displuvium of the open atrium was a basin where falling rainwater was collected, which also served as a window to monitor the weather of the outside world. In Fragmentin’s installation, when natural precipitation is being shown on the screens, the water basin also simulates a natural all-over rain shower. However, during reports of human manipulation, the droplets form artificial patterns that make you wonder, and make it clear that there may be something wrong with the rain.
The installation reveals the extent of human intervention in natural processes and ultimately shows the limits of the power of science and technology over nature, which, as the failures demonstrate, are patently beyond human control.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Fragmentin is an artist collective based in Lausanne, Switzerland, founded in 2014 by three ECAL (Lausanne University of Art and Design) alumni: Laura Perrenoud (*1991, Lausanne), David Colombini (*1989, Lausanne) and Marc Dubois (*1985, Basel).

At the crossroads of art and engineering, Fragmentin’s work questions the impact of the digital on everyday life by investigating these technologies’ disposition towards control and opacity. Influenced by the likes of Alain Damasio, Eric Sadin and James Bridle, Fragmentin’s installations posit chance, randomness and the unexpected as remedies of control.

Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist

Fragmentin, Displuvium

Year: 2019
Type: Installation Electroniques Logiciel Médias mixtes
Media Format: 2 screens, weathering steel, black aluminium, 3D printed nozzles, water pumps, electronic components, computer, water
Duration: C. 20‘ loop
Dimension: 205 x 100 x 15 cm
Credits: In collaboration with Renaud Defrancesco
Acquisition: Acquired 2019, inv.no. S0079
Artwork Link: https://www.fragment.in/artworks/displuvium/
Artist Website: www.fragment.in

Info
prev
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, courtesy the artist
Fragmentin, Displuvium, 2019, Ausstellung Schweizer Medienkunst: !Mediengruppe Bitnik, Fragmentin, Lauren Huret – Pax Art Awards 2018, HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel). Foto: Franz Wamhof
prev
next

Fragmentin est un collectif d’artistes basé à Lausanne et composé de Laura Perrenoud, David Colombini et Marc Dubois. Avec Displuvium (2019), il analyse les tentatives humaines d’intervention dans des phénomènes naturels, ici à travers des modifications météorologiques ciblées.
Un grand bassin d’eau ovale au sol est présenté en relation à deux écrans fixés au mur. Ces derniers diffusent une succession aléatoire de douze épisodes de précipitations extraordinaires d’origine naturelle ou résultant d’une modification météorologique, des années 1940 à nos jours. Ainsi, nous assistons à une parade militaire à Moscou en 1992, pour laquelle des avions ont pulvérisé des produits chimiques dans les nuages afin de s’assurer que la pluie ne viendrait pas gâcher les festivités. Nous découvrons également comment les Chinois ont tenté de produire des précipitations en 2008 à l’issue d’une longue période de sécheresse à Pékin et ont finalement provoqué une désastreuse tempête de neige qui a recouvert la ville.
Le fond du bassin est tapissé de buses immergées invisibles pour le public, qui donnent l’impression, de manière artificielle, que des gouttes de pluie tombent dans l’eau. C’est ce procédé qui donne son titre à l’installation : dans les villas romaines antiques, le displuvium était un bassin situé sous le toit ouvert de l’atrium et collectait les gouttes de pluie, symbolisant ainsi le lien direct avec le monde extérieur. Lorsque les écrans diffusent les images d’épisodes naturels, la simulation dans le bassin d’eau ressemble aux effets d’une averse naturelle. Mais lorsqu’ils retransmettent les images d’une manipulation humaine, les gouttes simulées commencent à former des motifs artificiels successifs qui intriguent et soulignent l’incohérence de ces précipitations.
L’installation révèle la portée des interventions humaines dans les processus naturels et montre également les limites du pouvoir de la science et de la technique sur la nature, qui, fort heureusement, ne se soumet pas véritablement au contrôle humain.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Fragmentin est un collectif d’artistes basé à Lausanne (Suisse), créé en 2014 et composé de trois ancien·nes élèves de l’ECAL (École cantonale d’art de Lausanne) : Laura Perrenoud (*1991, Lausanne), David Colombini (*1989, Lausanne) et Marc Dubois (*1985, Bâle).

À la croisée de l’art et de l’ingénierie, les travaux de Fragmentin interrogent l’impact du numérique sur la vie quotidienne en étudiant la tendance des ces technologies à favoriser le contrôle et l’opacité. Influencées par celles d’Alain Damasio, Eric Sadin et James Bridle, les installations de Fragmentin proposent le hasard, l’imprévisibilité et l’inattendu comme remèdes au contrôle.