Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009

Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System

Year: 2009
Type: Video
Media Format: Video
Duration: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0066
Artwork Link: https://www.zimoun.net/sculptures/
Artist Website: www.zimoun.net

Info
prev
Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009
prev
next

The kinetic-minimalist sound artist Zimoun’s video 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System (2009) takes the sounds made by live woodworms at work as a starting point for the creation of an atonal, minimalist soundscape. A microphone mounted above a piece of bark amplifies the gnawing noises of the 25 woodworms enclosed in it, making these audible to the human ear.
Here too, as in all of the Bernese artist’s works, the remarkably simple experimental set-up results in a complex and unrepeatable tapestry of sound. The acoustic proximity to the soundscapes of his other and later works, such as his large-scale installation of wooden sticks hitting the floor by means of rotating DC motors in 600 prepared DC-Motors, 58 kg Wood (2017) is striking; with the erratic scuttling activity of the insect community illustrating the bustling and complex soundscapes of his works on another level.
Like the sounds of the woodworms, the individual sounds in Zimoun’s works tend to be delicate and fast, repetitive but a-rhythmic. When 25 tone generators or more are drawn together, they acquire something diffuse, which can infiltrate an entire room and even resonate beyond it. Supposedly, but only supposedly, the sound follows its own swarm logic; however, we know from biologists that it is entirely composed by coincidence. Only animals such as termites or ants follow a collective logic, woodworms do not exhibit this swarm behaviour. Like the artist’s wooden sticks and cotton balls, each woodworm emits a unique sound sequence that arises purely from the moment.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Growing up in Moosaffoltern near Bern, Zimoun learnt to play various musical instruments early on and wrote his first simple compositions at the age of ten. Following teacher training in Bern (1996–2000), he presented his first musical and visual works at the Tonus Labor (later Orbital Garden) of the Bernese musician and composer Don Li. Since 2004, he has been awarded prizes and scholarships, including the Aeschlimann Corti scholarship, the Kiefer Halblitzel Prize (2006), the Canton of Bern’s scholarship to New York (2007) and the Honorary Mention Ars Electronica in Linz (2010). During his three-month artist-in-residence fellowship in China in 2004, Zimoun gave 15 live performances in various Chinese cities. Zimoun has held acoustic performances at festivals and concert halls, including the Elektra Festival Montreal, the Royal Academy of Music Denmark, the Festival Transmediale in Berlin and the Sonic Acts Festival in Amsterdam. Institutional solo exhibitions include Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein (2010), Ringling Museum of Art in Sarasota, Florida (2011), Museum MIS São Paulo (2012), Borusan Contemporary Istanbul (2012), Nam June Paik Museum Seoul (2012), Harnett Museum of Art Richmond (2013), Rennes, at the Musée des Beaux-Arts and the Musée Les Champs Libres (simultaneously in 2013), Musée des beaux-arts in Le Locle (2016/17), Le Centquatre in Paris (2017), Museum of Contemporary Art Busan (2018). He has also participated in numerous institutional group exhibitions worldwide, such as in Asia, Canada and South America: 2012 and 2016 in Taipei, 2013 in Seoul, 2014 and 2016 in Montreal, 2016 Santiago de Chile as well as in Switzerland at the Kunstmuseum Thun.

Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009

Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System

Year: 2009
Type: Vidéo
Media Format: Video
Duration: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0066
Artwork Link: https://www.zimoun.net/sculptures/
Artist Website: www.zimoun.net

Info
prev
Zimoun, 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System, 2009
prev
next

La vidéo 25 Woodworms, Wood, Microphone, Sound System (2009) de l’artiste sonore cinétique minimaliste Zimoun utilise le bruit produit par des vers de bois vivants pour générer un univers sonore atonal et minimaliste. Le micro monté au-dessus d’un morceau d’écorce amplifie les sons des 25 vers de bois qui rongent la matière, les rendant ainsi, pour la première fois, audibles pour l’oreille humaine. Comme dans tous les travaux de l’artiste bernois, le dispositif expérimental est simple, mais il génère un tapis sonore complexe et non reproductible.
Cet univers sonore est clairement similaire à celui de ses travaux plus récents, comme l’installation 600 prepared DC-Motors, 58kg Wood (2017), composée de baguettes de bois qui sont actionnées en rotation par des moteurs à courant continu et battent ainsi le sol. Il s’apparente à l’agitation erratique et zélée d’essaims d’insectes.
Les sons produits sont, comme pour chacun des vers, plutôt frêles et rapides, répétitifs mais arythmiques. Amplifiés par l’interaction de 25 générateurs sonores ou plus, ils produisent un ensemble diffus, qui se répand de façon ondoyante dans toute la pièce et au-delà. Ce bruissement semble suivre sa propre logique d’essaim, mais ce n’est qu’une apparence car nous savons qu’il est aléatoire. Seuls les animaux comme les termites ou les fourmis poursuivent leur propre logique et les verres de bois n’adoptent pas ce comportement. Comme les baguettes de bois et les balles de coton de l’artiste, ils produisent des séquences sonores uniques, qui émanent purement du moment.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Zimoun a grandi à Moosaffoltern, près de Berne. Enfant, il apprend plusieurs instruments et réalise dès l’âge de dix ans ses premières compositions simples. Il suit une formation au séminaire de pédagogie de Berne (1996-2000). Ses premiers travaux musicaux et visuels sont exposés au Tonus Labor (ultérieurement Orbital Garden) du musicien et compositeur bernois Don Li. À partir de 2004, il reçoit différents prix d’encouragement et bourses, notamment la bourse Aeschlimann Corti, le prix Kiefer Halblitzel (2006), la bourse de séjour à l’étranger du canton de Berne pour New York (2007) et l’Honorary Mention du prix Ars Electronica à Linz (2010). Au cours de sa résidence d’artiste de trois mois en Chine en 2004, Zimoun réalise 15 performances en live dans diverses villes du pays. Il a présenté ses performances acoustiques dans des festivals et des salles de concert, notamment l’Elektra Festival de Montréal, la Royal Academy of Music de Danemark, le Festival Transmediale de Berlin ou le Sonic Acts Festival d’Amsterdam. Il a également réalisé des expositions individuelles institutionnelles au musée des Beaux-Arts du Liechtenstein (2010), au Ringling Museum of Art de Sarasota en Floride (2011), au musée MIS de São Paulo (2012), au Borusan Contemporary d’Istanbul (2012), au Nam June Paik Museum de Séoul (2012), au Harnett Museum of Art de Richmond (2013), au Musée des Beaux-Arts et au Musée Les Champs Libres de Rennes (parallèlement en 2013), au Musée des beaux-arts de Le Locle (2016/17), au Centquatre de Paris (2017), au Museum of Contemporary Art Busan (2018). Il a en outre participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives institutionnelles dans le monde, notamment en Asie, au Canada et en Amérique du Sud : en 2012 et 2016 à Taipei, en 2013 à Séoul, en 2014 et 2016 à Montréal, en 2016 à Santiago du Chili et au Kunstmuseum Thun.

Collaboration avec l’artiste Pe Lang de 2004 à 2008. Depuis 2011, collaboration avec le duo de danse Delgado Fuchs (Nadine Fuchs et Marco Delgado) sous le nom A Normal Working Day. Zimoun vit et travaille à Berne.