Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm, 2013

Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm

Year: 2013
Type: Sound sculpture
Media Format: 2 DC motors, 2 cotton balls, 2 cardboard boxes
Duration: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0067
Artwork Link: https://www.zimoun.net/sculptures/
Artist Website: www.zimoun.net

Info
prev
Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm, 2013
prev
next

In 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 × 12 × 5 cm (2013) Zimoun uses wire-reinforced adhesive tape to connect two smaller cardboard boxes and a portable headphone to form a participatory kinetic sound object. Like the basic unit in 1 Prepared DC-Motor (2012), the cardboard boxes serve as sound bodies for cotton balls that beat against their surfaces by means of DC-motors. When the viewers put on the headphones and use the toggle switch to turn them on, their ears take on the role of an amplifier, allowing the a-rhythmic pounding to immerse them in a sound world that shuts out any other external noise.
Zimoun himself speaks of the “primitive complexity” of his works, a polarity, which becomes apparent even in the smallest unit of the individual speaker. The works’ simple functional materials are assembled by hand in a manner that reflects the unique and always slightly changing cloud of sound that spreads out from around the box. With two rhythms in the headphones this effect is doubled, as it is multiplied many times over in the installations, where hundreds of these basic units, in a kind of minimalism to the power of two, together create an ever unique, walk-in sound space.
The minimalist grace and intrinsic magic of his kinetic sound spaces is reminiscent of the artist Pe Lang, whose work is also represented in the collection of the HeK, and with whom Zimoun collaborated between 2004 and 2008.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Growing up in Moosaffoltern near Bern, Zimoun learnt to play various musical instruments early on and wrote his first simple compositions at the age of ten. Following teacher training in Bern (1996–2000), he presented his first musical and visual works at the Tonus Labor (later Orbital Garden) of the Bernese musician and composer Don Li. Since 2004, he has been awarded prizes and scholarships, including the Aeschlimann Corti scholarship, the Kiefer Halblitzel Prize (2006), the Canton of Bern’s scholarship to New York (2007) and the Honorary Mention Ars Electronica in Linz (2010). During his three-month artist-in-residence fellowship in China in 2004, Zimoun gave 15 live performances in various Chinese cities. Zimoun has held acoustic performances at festivals and concert halls, including the Elektra Festival Montreal, the Royal Academy of Music Denmark, the Festival Transmediale in Berlin and the Sonic Acts Festival in Amsterdam. Institutional solo exhibitions include Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein (2010), Ringling Museum of Art in Sarasota, Florida (2011), Museum MIS São Paulo (2012), Borusan Contemporary Istanbul (2012), Nam June Paik Museum Seoul (2012), Harnett Museum of Art Richmond (2013), Rennes, at the Musée des Beaux-Arts and the Musée Les Champs Libres (simultaneously in 2013), Musée des beaux-arts in Le Locle (2016/17), Le Centquatre in Paris (2017), Museum of Contemporary Art Busan (2018). He has also participated in numerous institutional group exhibitions worldwide, such as in Asia, Canada and South America: 2012 and 2016 in Taipei, 2013 in Seoul, 2014 and 2016 in Montreal, 2016 Santiago de Chile as well as in Switzerland at the Kunstmuseum Thun.

Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm, 2013

Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm

Year: 2013
Type: Sculpture sonore
Media Format: 2 DC motors, 2 cotton balls, 2 cardboard boxes
Duration: variable
Acquisition: Acquired 2018, inv.no. S0067
Artwork Link: https://www.zimoun.net/sculptures/
Artist Website: www.zimoun.net

Info
prev
Zimoun, 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm, 2013
prev
next

L’objet sonore cinétique participatif 2 prepared DC-Motors, Cotton Balls, Cardboard Boxes 16.5 x 12 x 5 cm, réalisé en 2013 par Zimoun, est un casque portatif composé de deux petites boîtes en carton reliées par un câble renforcé à l’aide de ruban adhésif. Comme pour l’élément de base de 1 prepared DC-Motors, datant de 2012, les boîtes en carton font office de caisses de résonnance pour les petites balles de coton rotatives actionnées par des moteurs à courant continu. Le casque peut ensuite être placé sur la tête, puis l’interrupteur à bascule est actionné et nos oreilles font quasiment office d’amplificateur. Ces battements arythmiques sont intensifiés et produisent un univers sonore immersif, couvrant tous les autres bruits extérieurs.
Zimoun lui-même parle d’une « complexité primitive » comme principe fondateur de ses travaux. La polarité intrinsèque à cette approche se manifeste dès le plus petit élément de chaque boîte. Les matériaux simples et rudimentaires sont assemblés manuellement, de sorte qu’un nuage sonore à chaque fois unique et non reproductible émerge du dispositif. Ce phénomène est doublé avec l’interaction de deux rythmes dans le casque, et démultiplié dans le cadre d’installations qui assemblent ces unités par centaines, sorte de minimalisme au carré faisant éclore un espace sonore unique, dans lequel le public peut déambuler.
Le charme minimaliste et la magie intrinsèque des univers sonores cinétiques de Zimoun rappellent les travaux de l’artiste Pe Lang, présents au sein de la collection de la HeK, avec lequel il a collaboré de 2004 à 2008.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Zimoun a grandi à Moosaffoltern, près de Berne. Enfant, il apprend plusieurs instruments et réalise dès l’âge de dix ans ses premières compositions simples. Il suit une formation au séminaire de pédagogie de Berne (1996-2000). Ses premiers travaux musicaux et visuels sont exposés au Tonus Labor (ultérieurement Orbital Garden) du musicien et compositeur bernois Don Li. À partir de 2004, il reçoit différents prix d’encouragement et bourses, notamment la bourse Aeschlimann Corti, le prix Kiefer Halblitzel (2006), la bourse de séjour à l’étranger du canton de Berne pour New York (2007) et l’Honorary Mention du prix Ars Electronica à Linz (2010). Au cours de sa résidence d’artiste de trois mois en Chine en 2004, Zimoun réalise 15 performances en live dans diverses villes du pays. Il a présenté ses performances acoustiques dans des festivals et des salles de concert, notamment l’Elektra Festival de Montréal, la Royal Academy of Music de Danemark, le Festival Transmediale de Berlin ou le Sonic Acts Festival d’Amsterdam. Il a également réalisé des expositions individuelles institutionnelles au musée des Beaux-Arts du Liechtenstein (2010), au Ringling Museum of Art de Sarasota en Floride (2011), au musée MIS de São Paulo (2012), au Borusan Contemporary d’Istanbul (2012), au Nam June Paik Museum de Séoul (2012), au Harnett Museum of Art de Richmond (2013), au Musée des Beaux-Arts et au Musée Les Champs Libres de Rennes (parallèlement en 2013), au Musée des beaux-arts de Le Locle (2016/17), au Centquatre de Paris (2017), au Museum of Contemporary Art Busan (2018). Il a en outre participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives institutionnelles dans le monde, notamment en Asie, au Canada et en Amérique du Sud : en 2012 et 2016 à Taipei, en 2013 à Séoul, en 2014 et 2016 à Montréal, en 2016 à Santiago du Chili et au Kunstmuseum Thun.

Collaboration avec l’artiste Pe Lang de 2004 à 2008. Depuis 2011, collaboration avec le duo de danse Delgado Fuchs (Nadine Fuchs et Marco Delgado) sous le nom A Normal Working Day. Zimoun vit et travaille à Berne.