My Boyfriend Came Back From The War
online since 1996
HeK (House of Electronic Arts Basel)
Merz Akademie Stuttgart
Olia Lialina, Sabine Himmelsbach (Hg.)
Christoph Merian Verlag, Basel

The trailblazing Net.Art work My Boyfriend Came Back from the War (in short MBCBFTW) by Russian artist Olia Lialina is celebrating its twentieth anniversary. The numerous appropriations and remixes of that work which have emerged over the past twenty years testify to its historical relevance as an interactive narrative on the Internet and as a work of Net art.
The publication presents both the original and 13 other versions by artists such as Jodi, Gragan Espenschied, Entropy8Zuper, Ignacio Nieto and Guthrie Lonergan, and so bridges twenty years of artistic praxis on the Internet. It also contains numerous illustrations and texts by Michael Connor, Roman Leibov, Joanne McNeil and Bruce Sterling.


Price: 29 CHF (plus shipping costs)

Poetics and Politics of Data
Ambivalenz des Lebens in der Datengesellschaft
HeK (House of Electronic Arts Basel)
Sabine Himmelsbach, Claudia Mareis (Hg.)
Christoph Merian Verlag, Basel

'Poetics and Politics of Data' reflects life in a world increasingly controlled by data and presents artistic positions that aim to make continuous streams of data visible – whether using Internet-based installations or graphic data visualizations. The participating artists question the relevance and place of the individual in a technologically connected society in which every day, each of us generates a nearly incomprehensible amount of data: Our every move on the Internet leaves behind a digital trace. In critical essays, Orit Halpern, Sabine Himmelsbach, Lev Manovich, Claudia Mareis, Ramón Reichert and Roberto Simanowski explore the phenomena of ‹Big Data› and ‹Data Mining› and pose critical questions about the ambivalence of life in a «datified» world.

Price: 29 CHF (plus shipping costs)

digital art conservation
Preservation of Digital Art: Theory and Practice
Bernhard Serexhe (Hg.)
Ambra

Are you born digital? That will be a crucial question in the future, when we are obliged to conserve the art of our era and to make it accessible to the public. The publication digital art conservation documents the results of a research project launched by the ZKM (Center for Art and Media Technology, Karslruhe, Germany) in 2010, in order to advance international discourse on the the conservation of digital art. As well as case studies, it contains articles by major media theorists, restorers, programmers and artists, such as Edmond Couchot, Alain Depocas, Johannes Gfeller, Sabine Himmelsbach, Anne Laforet, Aymeric Mansoux, Antoni Muntadas, Jussi Parikka, Bernhard Serexhe and Siegfried Zielinski.

Price: 40 CHF (plus shipping costs)

Sensing Place
Mediatising the Urban Landscape
Zur medialen Durchdringung des urbanen Raums
Haus für elektronische Künste Basel (Ed.)
Christoph Merian Verlag

What is the impact, when geo-information services and social online platforms fuse their data and allow us to discover by smartphone which “friends” are currently near at hand? How is our experience of the city altered when it is filtered by mobile technologies? How can sensoring and monitoring data we used in the planning of urban infrastructures?
"Sensing Place" investigates the medial permeation of urban space and inquires into the myriad effects of the increasing overlay and overlap of physical urban space and virtual information space. In addition to four theoretical papers, eleven artistic positions address how the fusion of imagination and personal perception makes itself felt. These positions draw on aesthetic means and media technologies to explore the (novel) re-configuration of public space and hence facilitate unusual perspectives on the medias’ ever more obtrusive encroachments on our environment.

Price: 26 CHF (plus shipping costs)

Publikationen

Liminal Laws

HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel)
Mu Artspace


Dieses Buch erschien im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Liminal Laws" der amerikanischen Künstlerin Addie Wagenknecht, welche vom 22. April bis 19. Juni 2016 im MU Artspace in Eindhoven und vom 15. September bis 06. November 2016 im HeK zu sehen war. Mit Texten von Domenico Quaranta, Claire Evans, Regine Debatty und Gabriella Coleman. Mit Bildern der Ausstellung im MU und weitere Werken von Addie Wagenknecht.

Preis: 21 CHF (zzgl. Versandkosten)

My Boyfriend Came Back From The War
online since 1996

HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel)
Merz Akademie Stuttgart
Olia Lialina, Sabine Himmelsbach (Hg.)


Die Net.Art-Pionierarbeit ‹My Boyfriend Came Back from the War› (kurz MBCBFTW) der russischen Künstlerin Olia Lialina feiert ihr zwanzigjähriges Bestehen. Deren historische Relevanz als interaktive Erzählung im Internet und als Werk der Netzkunst lässt sich aus den zahlreichen Appropriationen und Remixes, die in den letzten zwanzig Jahren entstanden sind, ermessen.
Die Publikation stellt das Original sowie 13 weitere Versionen von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wie Jodi, Dragan Espenschied, Entropy8Zuper, Ignacio Nieto und Guthrie Lonergan vor. Sie spannt damit einen Bogen über zwanzig Jahre künstlerische Praxis im Internet. Mit zahlreichen Abbildungen und Texten von Michael Connor, Roman Leibov, Joanne McNeil und Bruce Sterling.

Preis: 29 CHF (zzgl. Versandkosten)

Poetics and Politics of Data
Ambivalenz des Lebens in der Datengesellschaft

HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel)
Sabine Himmelsbach, Claudia Mareis (Hg.)
Christoph Merian Verlag, Basel


Das Leben in der heutigen Gesellschaft ist dominiert von einer Unmenge an Daten. Die Publikation stellt unterschiedliche Positionen aus Kunst und Design vor, die sich mit dem Leben in einer zunehmend datifizierten Welt auseinandersetzen. Dabei werden künstlerisch-gestalterische Strategien im Spannungsfeld der Möglichkeiten und Gefahren der Datengesellschaft aufgezeigt. Das Buch zeigt Arbeiten der gleichnamigen Ausstellung im HeK Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel. Mit zahlreichen Abbildungen und Texten von Orit Halpern, Sabine Himmelsbach, Lev Manovich, Claudia Mareis, Ramon Reichert, Roberto Simanowski.

Preis: 29 CHF (zzgl. Versandkosten)

digital art conservation
Konservierung digitaler Kunst: Theorie und Praxis

Bernhard Serexhe (Hg.)
Ambra


Are you born digital? Das wird in Zukunft die entscheidende Frage sein, wenn es darum geht, die Kunst unserer Zeit zu bewahren und zugänglich zu machen. Die vorliegende Publikation präsentiert die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts "digital art conservation", das 2010 am ZKM I Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe ins Leben gerufen worden ist, und soll den internationalen Diskurs über die Konservierung digitaler Kunst vorantreiben. Sie enthält Textbeiträge bedeutender Medientheoretiker, Restauratoren, Programmierer und Künstler sowie Fallstudien. Mit Texten unter anderem von: Edmond Couchot, Alain Depocas, Johannes Gfeller, Sabine Himmelsbach, Anne Laforet, Aymeric Mansoux, Antoni Muntadas, Jussi Parikka, Bernhard Serexhe, Siegfried Zielinski.

Preis: 40 CHF (zzgl. Versandkosten)

Sensing Place
Mediatising the Urban Landscape

Zur medialen Durchdringung des urbanen Raums
Haus für elektronische Künste Basel (Ed.)
Christoph Merian Verlag


Was bedeutet es, wenn Geoinformationsdienste und soziale Onlineplattformen ihre Daten fusionieren und wir mittels Smartphone abrufen können, welche "Freunde" sich gerade in unserer Nähe befinden? Wie verändert sich unser Erleben von Stadt, wenn wir sie über mobile Technologien vermittelt erfahren?

Wie lassen sich Sensoring- und Monitoring-Daten für die Planung urbaner Infrastrukturen nutzen? "Sensing Place" untersucht die mediale Durchdringung des urbanen Raums und fragt nach den Auswirkungen der zunehmenden Überlagerung von physischem Stadtraum und virtuellem Informationsraum. Neben vier theoretischen Beiträgen befassen sich elf künstlerische Positionen mit den Auswirkungen dieser Verschmelzung auf unsere Vorstellung und Wahrnehmung. Mit ästhetischen und medientechnischen Mitteln thematisieren die Arbeiten die Um- und Neugestaltung des öffentlichen Raums und ermöglichen ungewohnte Perspektiven auf die zunehmende mediale Durchdringung unserer Lebenswelt.

Preis: 26 CHF  (zzgl. Versandkosten)