Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, screenshot on youtube

Patience, Adam Cruces

One of the American artist Adam Cruces’s main interests is the specific aesthetics of the digital world. In the video loop Patience, he shows the face of a computer-generated beauty. Her features remain immobile, while the hypnotic waves of a Mac-OS screensaver move up and down in her hollowed-out eyes.

More
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, installation view

Transits, Ursula Damm

The installation Transits, produced for the HeK exhibition Sensing Place in 2012, uses 24 hours of video footage of Aeschenplatz in Basel to record traces of passers-by at an urban traffic intersection, and to make their characteristics visible.

More
Christina Kubisch, Electrical Walks Basel, 2012. Photo: Lukas Zitzer

Electrical Walks Basel, Christina Kubisch

Christina Kubisch’s Electrical Walks lead to a city’s electromagnetic hotspots and enable us to view our daily environment anew. 

More
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot

div. [property], Jodi

The Website div.[property] consists of an animation in which the two standard desktop background images of the Mac Leopard and Windows XP operating systems intersect horizontally, vertically and diagonally in a constant rotation.

More
Alexis O’Hara, Squeeeeque A.K.A. the improbable Igloo, 2009-2011. Photo: Stefan Hollenstein

Squeeeeque A.K.A. the improbable Igloo, Alexis O’Hara

The Canadian artist Alexis O’Hara has been active as a slam poet and experimental musician since the end of the 1990s. With the Squeeeeque igloo, she has built an interactive audio sculpture consisting of inward-facing, recycled speaker boxes.

More
Lauren Huret, Face Swap (past), 2016, screenshot

Face Swap (past), Lauren Huret

In her works, Lauren Huret takes on such issues as the impact of artificial intelligence. On her Website she only shares a disclaimer with users, since – as she writes – she’s quite mistrustful of the WWW.

More
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot

TV-Bot 2.0, Marc Lee

Since the end of the 1990s, the Swiss artist Marc Lee has been an important representative of net-based art. He is known for his experiments with digital-information and communication-technology strategies and also, increasingly, with user-generated content.

More
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, Kunsthaus Langenthal

New Nations, Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud

Like many of the net-based works of the Swiss artist duo Wachter and Jud, New Nations illustrates the power structures of the Internet. The work is a router designed to display the limits of the freedom of the digital-communications community.

More
UBERMORGEN, Sound of eBay, 2008/2009, screenshot

Sound of eBay, UBERMORGEN

Since 1995, the Austrian artist duo UBERMORGEN has been working in the fields of digital fine art, media activism, programming and media hacking. 
The Sound of eBay is a website that generates MP3 tracks from eBay user data and presents them in the form of teletext sex ads.

More
Aline Zeltner, Lideslied, 2011, still

Lideslied, Aline Zeltner

Lideslied is the first video work by the Swiss artist Aline Zeltner, who initially worked mainly with objects, installations and performances. In a larger-than-life projection, shown in slow motion against the backdrop of rhythmic string sounds, a woman rides on a gleaming brown horse from the depths of a summer-green meadow towards the viewer.

More
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, installation view at HeK

EHB 5866, Esther Hunziker

EHB 5866 is the fictitious galaxy of the Basel artist Esther Hunziker, which consists of a hundredfold superimposition of a single real photograph of the Mars moon Phobus. Rather than around the red planet, the layers of the celestial body’s image rotate around themselves in changing constellations.

More
Philipp Madörin, Allebildergenerator, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Allebildergenerator, Philipp Madörin

For the work Allebildergenerator, the Basel artist Philipp Madörin, who originally worked in the field of medical-diagnostic imagery, developed an algorithm that can generate all the images that can be made on a b/w monitor with 480 x 360 pixels.

More
Aline Veillat, Sada el-Kawn, 2011, installation view. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Sada El-Kawn, Aline Veillat

A ceiling-high papyrus plant is festooned with numerous loudspeakers and megaphones, through which a buzz of Arabic poems, revolutionary songs, muezzin calls to prayer or the twittering of birds can be heard. 

More
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, installation view at HeK, Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Um die Ecke, Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg

With their installation Um die Ecke (Around the Corner), the Swiss artists Denis Handschin and Michel Winterberg have created a multiperspective portrait of Basel’s Dreispitz area. Film footage of the site is projected onto an assemblage of four prism-like triangular surfaces, while its acoustic and electronic characteristics are also provided, along with information relating to Basel’s archaeological soil research. 

More
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot

onewordmovie, Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann

Beat Brogle and Philippe Zimmermann have developed software for their participatory Web art onewordmovie that – via a connection to a common Web browser such as Netscape or Internet Explorer – compiles all pictures linked under a search term into one film. 

More
Studer / van den Berg, filter: four letter words, 1997 – 1998

filter: four letter words, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer and Christoph van den Berg are among Switzerland’s pioneers of media art; they have been addressing the artistic possibilities of this new platform since the mid-1990s. The three so-called filter works, which were created between 1996 and 1998, can be seen today as historical snapshots. According to the artists themselves, they "deal with the then totally new artistic instrument of hypertext at the level of pictorial translations."

More
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mille miglia, 1997 – 1998

filter: mille miglia, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer and Christoph van den Berg are among Switzerland’s pioneers of media art. The three so-called filter works were created between 1996 and 1998. "Filters are snippets," the artists explain, "whose subject is the changing perspectives when moving in and through the Internet. Like a toddler who learns that moving forwards can mean more than simply following a straight line to reach a goal, we should find different terms for different ways of moving in a nonlinear system." 

More
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998

filter: mixed double, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer and Christoph van den Berg are among Switzerland’s pioneers of media art. The three so-called filter works were created between 1996 and 1998. "These filters can be used to cool down from the search for meaning in the www and to move on aimlessly – like in a road movie," the artists explain.

More
./LOGICALAND V0.1, Maia Gusberti, Michael Aschauer, Nik Thoenen, Sepp Deinhofer, 2002

./LOGICALAND V0.1, Maia Gusberti, Michael Aschauer, Nik Thoenen, Sepp Deinhofer

The long-term strategy game ./Logicaland V0.1 is based on a world simulation developed in the USA in the mid-1970s. The model reflects global interdependencies between 185 countries and was fed with specific starting data from the "CIA World Fact Book 2001." 

More
Mélodie Mousset, We were looking for ourselves in each other, 2015

We were looking for ourselves in each other, Mélodie Mousset

Mélodie Mousset uses her own body as the starting point for her work, in which high-resolution imaging methods of medical diagnostics play an important role. Mousset has used them to create virtual animations of her own bodily organs, which float down to the user in a paradisiacal island setting, complete with blue sky and sounds of the sea.

More
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Download Finished, 2006, installation view

Download Finished, !Mediengruppe Bitnik

For their Internet project Download Finished, the Zurich-based artistic duo !Mediengruppe Bitnik (Carmen Weisskopf and Domagoj Smoljo), known for the media-reflective application of hacking strategies, use films from P2P networks and online archives.

More
knowbotic research, macghillie_just a void, 2008 – 2012

macghillie_just a void, knowbotic research

knowbotic research deals with phenomena of visibility and presence as well as with the translation between different systems of meaning: Performative and installative works in the public space confront real-world scenarios with semi-fictional test cases. The figure MacGhillie – clothed in a typical camouflage suit and without attracting attention either as an individual or as a person at all - seeks out urban locations.

More
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002

minds of concern (New York version), knowbotic research

Minds of concern, a project originally conceived as an exhibition for the New Museum, New York, 2002, consists of an installation and a Net-based work. Using the Web interface of the Public Domain Scanner, visitors to the exhibition can select from certain groups on the project Website, such as movements or NGOs like Oxfam, the Freedom from Debt Coalition and COSATU, or media activists and artists who express critical views of global activities of the Internet community. 

More
knowbotic research, kotomisi un-inform, 2014 –2016

kotomisi un-inform, knowbotiq

Kotomisi is the name of a traditional 17th century garment that slaves wore in the former Dutch colony of Surinam, both before and after their liberation. The fabric for this multi-layered garment, consisting of skirt, jacket and headdress, was manufactured in trans-local production and distribution processes in Europe, Africa, Asia and America, representing the conditions and even the payment methods of a slave trade that was already quite globalized even then.

More
collectif_fact, Circus, 2004, installation view

Circus, collectif_fact

The video installation Circus lives from the tension between the simple, static recording of images using digital photography, and their technically high-quality animation. Against an undefined black ground, various micro-scenarios of the eponymous plaza in Geneva float in and out of view, as the different components expand into numerous layers.

More
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot

Loading, collectif_fact

The animated video Loading by the artist group collectif_fact shows an endlessly looped, short sequence of identical, grey delivery vans that drive two by two into an equally grey parking garage. The monotonous flow of the vans never changes. The scenery appears to be made of cardboard and the plot is obviously set-up and unnatural. 

More
Jan Voellmy, Schnur, 2008, installation view

Schnur, Jan Voellmy

With Schnur [string], his interactive installation, Basel artist Jan Voellmy transforms sound into playful movement. The projection of a piece of string stuck on a wall with red tape channels the sounds of visitors via a microphone, causing a dancing movement in the string, which otherwise swings back and forth gently to the background noise of visitors.

More
Atelier Hauert-Reichmuth mit Volker Böhm, LUMO LED, 2009

LUMO LED, Atelier Hauert-Reichmuth mit Volker Böhm

Each Multiple has 16 luminous chambers, which can be individually controlled. Although – and precisely because – the number of pixels is greatly reduced, it is possible, when they are set in motion, to trigger a variety of image worlds and incredibly complex processes. Cellular automata are infiltrated by chaotic systems; random structures unexpectedly develop a symmetrical function. 

More
Jodi, Max Payne Cheats Only, 2004, screenshot

Max Payne Cheats Only, Jodi

Max Payne Cheats Only concludes a series of video game appropriations by the Dutch-Belgian artist duo Jodi. The existing figure of Max Payne – the third person shooter – is dismantled and reconstituted into a meaningless juxtaposition of repetitive microtreatments, following all rules of programming art. 

More
Alexander Hahn, A Young Person’s Guide To Walking Outside The City, 1983, screenshot

A Young Person’s Guide To Walking Outside The City, Alexander Hahn

The computer animation that Swiss artist Alexander Hahn created in 1983 at the start of his career depicts a surreal country walk. After the main protagonist, a small blue man, is shot at by fish flying out of a cannon, he makes a bicycle for himself out of the cannon.

More
Esther Hunziker, Frequency, 2008, screenshot

Frequency, Esther Hunziker

In her video Frequency, Esther Hunziker compressed the found footage of a live concert so often that the band’s motions break down into constantly changing color fields. The fitting "electrospherical" soundtrack, as the artist herself aptly names it, consists of overlapping radio frequencies.

More
Birgit Kempker, Sphinx, 2004 – ongoing, screenshot

Sphinx, Birgit Kempker

Sphinx is an interactive literary platform that went online in 2004. Users can pose the  most diverse questions and expect an individual, oulipoetic response. Oulipoetic is short for Ouvroir de Littérature Potentielle, a workshop for potential literature in which Birgit Kempker has found the basic verse form for her responses: The sestina verse of Baroque lyrics, with its six stanzas of six lines each.

More
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view

TV-Bot 1.0, Marc Lee

TV-Bot 1.0 was – like its two current successors, TV-Bot 2.0 und 3.0 – a live-stream TV station that recombined current news stories in real time. Three short videos from the first version have been preserved using capture software.

More
collectif_fact, ce qui arrive, 2005, screenshot

ce qui arrive, collectif_fact

The video animation ce qui arrive is a virtual tour though a large office building, whose anonymous corridors and meeting rooms could be anywhere in the western world. As the camera moves through the building on a horizontal or vertical path, the configurations of people in each room change through overlapping still images.

More
Studer / van den Berg, travelogue, 2005, screenshot

travelogue, Studer / van den Berg

Travelogue, a Web game that Studer / van den Berg developed for the TV and Online-Project 56kTV bastard channel, is a first-person travelogue whose narrator is the user, trying to escape from the claustrophobic narrowness of an anonymous hotel room and the annoying background noise of a broken television.

More
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot

Every Icon, John F. Simon, Jr.

In his work Every Icon, the US American artist John F. Simon, Jr. has programmed software that runs through all possible combinations of black and white fields in a grid of 32 x 32 squares, at a rate of 100 variants per second, from top to bottom.

More

Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, screenshot on youtube

Patience, Adam Cruces

L’artiste américain Adam Cruces, qui s’intéresse notamment à l’esthétique spécifique du numérique, montre dans sa boucle vidéo Patience le visage d’une beauté générée par ordinateur. Ses traits demeurent immobiles, tandis que les ondulations hypnotiques d’un écran de veille Mac OS flottent dans ses yeux vides.

Plus
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, installation view

Transits, Ursula Damm

L’installation Transits, produite pour l’exposition Sensing Place qui s’est tenue à la HeK en 2012, utilise 24h de captations vidéo réalisées sur la place Aeschenplatz de Bâle pour suivre les traces des passants sur l’un des points névralgiques de la ville en termes de transport et faire ressortir leurs caractéristiques.

Plus
Christina Kubisch, Electrical Walks Basel, 2012. Photo: Lukas Zitzer

Electrical Walks Basel, Christina Kubisch

Les Electrical Walks de Christina Kubisch conduisent à la découverte des hotspots électromagnétiques de la ville et font éclore une toute nouvelle perception de notre environnement quotidien.

Plus
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot

div. [property], Jodi

Le site Internet div.[property] présente une animation dans laquelle les deux fonds d’écran par défaut des systèmes d’exploitation Mac Leopard et Windows XP se succèdent en se scindant perpétuellement dans un mouvement de rotation horizontale, verticale et diagonale.

Plus
Alexis O’Hara, Squeeeeque A.K.A. the improbable Igloo, 2009-2011. Photo: Stefan Hollenstein

Squeeeeque A.K.A. the improbable Igloo, Alexis O’Hara

Active depuis la fin des années 1990 dans les domaines de la poésie, du slam et de la musique expérimentale, l’artiste canadienne Alexis O’Hara propose avec son igloo Squeeeeque une sculpture sonore interactive.

Plus
Lauren Huret, Face Swap (past), 2016, screenshot

Face Swap (past), Lauren Huret

Lauren Huret axe notamment ses travaux sur les questions liées aux conséquences de l’intelligence artificielle. Son site Internet est ainsi uniquement constitué d’un avertissement à destination des utilisateurs, car – comme elle l’écrit – elle fait preuve d’une grande méfiance envers le web.

Plus
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot

TV-Bot 2.0, Marc Lee

Depuis la fin des années 1990, le Suisse Marc Lee est considéré comme l’un des principaux représentants de l’art en ligne, grâce à ses expérimentations portant sur les stratégies des technologies de l’information et de la communication numériques, ainsi que sur le contenu généré par les utilisateurs (user generated content en anglais).

Plus
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, Kunsthaus Langenthal

New Nations, Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud

Comme nombre des œuvres en ligne du duo d’artistes que forment Wachter et Jud, New Nations met en évidence les structures du pouvoir liées à Internet. Il s’agit ici d’un routeur conçu pour matérialiser les limites de la liberté au sein de la société de la communication numérique.

Plus
UBERMORGEN, Sound of eBay, 2008/2009, screenshot

Sound of eBay, UBERMORGEN

Le duo d’artistes autrichien UBERMORGEN.COM travaille depuis 1995 dans le domaine de l’art pictural numérique, de l’activisme numérique, de la programmation et du piratage. The Sound of eBay est un site Internet qui génère des pistes MP3 à partir de données d’utilisateurs d’eBay et les présente sous forme d’encarts érotiques au format télétexte.

Plus
Aline Zeltner, Lideslied, 2011, still

Lideslied, Aline Zeltner

Lideslied est le premier travail vidéo de l’artiste suisse Aline Zeltner, qui se consacrait auparavant surtout aux objets, aux installations et aux performances. Dans une projection grandeur nature au ralenti et rythmée par un son de corde, une femme monte un cheval bai à la robe luisante dans une clairière verdoyante, face au spectateur.

Plus
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, installation view at HeK

EHB 5866, Esther Hunziker

EHB 5866 est la galaxie fictive de l’artiste bâloise Esther Hunziker, composée d’une unique photographie réelle de Phobos, un satellite de Mars. Superposées au centuples, les reproductions de cette représentation du corps céleste se déplacent en orbite autour d’elles-mêmes – et non autour de la planète rouge – formant ainsi des constellations changeantes.

Plus
Philipp Madörin, Allebildergenerator, 2011, installation view at HeK. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Allebildergenerator, Philipp Madörin

Philipp Madörin, artiste bâlois issu du domaine de l’imagerie de diagnostic médical, a mis au point pour son projet allebildergenerator, 2480*360 un algorithme permettant de générer toutes les images susceptibles d’être affichées sur un écran en noir et blanc avec une résolution 480 x 360 pixels.

Plus
Aline Veillat, Sada el-Kawn, 2011, installation view. Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Sada El-Kawn, Aline Veillat

Un papyrus touchant le plafond abrite plusieurs haut-parleurs et mégaphones, qui diffusent un méli-mélo de poèmes arabes, chansons révolutionnaires, appels de muezzin et gazouillis d’oiseaux.

Plus
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, installation view at HeK, Photo: Stefan Holenstein

Um die Ecke, Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg

À travers leur installation Um die Ecke, les Suisses Denis Handschin et Michel Winterberg dressent un portrait aux multiples perspectives du quartier bâlois du Dreispitz. Sur quatre surfaces triangulaires agencées en forme de prisme sont projetées des prises de vue du quartier, auxquelles sont appliquées des caractéristiques acoustiques et électroniques, ainsi que des informations du service d’archéologie de Bâle.

Plus
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot

onewordmovie, Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann

Pour leur œuvre en ligne participative onewordmovie, Beat Brogle et Philippe Zimmermann ont mis au point un logiciel capable de générer un film en combinant toutes les images liées à un mot-clé de recherche entré dans les principaux explorateurs Internet comme Netscape ou Internet Explorer.

Plus
Studer / van den Berg, filter: four letter words, 1997 – 1998

filter: four letter words, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer et Christoph van den Berg comptent parmi les pionniers de l’art numérique en Suisse, discipline qu’ils ont abordée dès le milieu des années 1990 en expérimentant les possibilités artistiques qu’offrait alors cette nouvelle plateforme. Leurs trois travaux « filter », qui ont vu le jour entre 1996 et 1998, constituent aujourd’hui des instantanés historiques – comme aiment à les qualifier les artistes – « qui traitent de l’instrument artistique, relativement nouveau à l’époque, que constituait l’hypertexte au niveau des traductions en image ».

Plus
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mille miglia, 1997 – 1998

filter: mille miglia, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer et Christoph van den Berg comptent parmi les pionniers de l’art numérique en Suisse. Leurs trois travaux « filter » ont vu le jour entre 1996 et 1998. « Nos œuvres filter sont des instantanés qui parlent des changements de perspectives provoqués par la navigation sur et via Internet. Comme un jeune enfant qui apprend que se déplacer ne signifie pas seulement suivre une ligne droite pour atteindre un but, nous devons trouver différents concepts pour découvrir diverses façons de se mouvoir dans un système non linéaire », expliquent les artistes.

Plus
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998

filter: mixed double, Studer / van den Berg

Monica Studer et Christoph van den Berg comptent parmi les pionniers de l’art numérique en Suisse. Leurs trois travaux « filter » ont vu le jour entre 1996 et 1998. « On peut utiliser nos œuvres filter pour s’éloigner des recherches ciblées sur Internet et naviguer sans but précis – un peu comme dans un road movie », expliquent les artistes.

Plus
./LOGICALAND V0.1, Maia Gusberti, Michael Aschauer, Nik Thoenen, Sepp Deinhofer, 2002

./LOGICALAND V0.1, Maia Gusberti, Michael Aschauer, Nik Thoenen, Sepp Deinhofer

Logicaland est un jeu de stratégie longue durée basé sur une simulation du monde développée au milieu des années 1970. Le modèle reflète les relations d’échanges mondiaux entre 185 États et a été complété à l’aide de données brutes tirées du « CIA World Fact Book 2001 ».

Plus
Mélodie Mousset, We were looking for ourselves in each other, 2015

We were looking for ourselves in each other, Mélodie Mousset

Mélodie Mousset prend son corps comme point de départ de son œuvre. Les procédés d’imagerie médicale haute résolution jouent ici un rôle essentiel : l’artiste y a recours pour réaliser des animations virtuelles de ses propres organes, qui flottent autour de l’utilisateur dans un décor d’île paradisiaque, avec ciel bleu et murmure du ressac.

Plus
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, Download Finished, 2006, installation view

Download Finished, !Mediengruppe Bitnik

Les Zurichois de !Mediengruppe Bitnik (Carmen Weisskopf et Domagoj Smoljo), connus pour leurs stratégies de piratage destinées à susciter une réflexion sur les médias, utilisent des films tirés des réseaux P2P et des archives Internet pour leur projet en ligne Download Finished.

Plus
knowbotic research, macghillie_just a void, 2008 – 2012

macghillie_just a void, knowbotic research

knowbotic research s’intéresse aux phénomènes de visibilité et de présence, ainsi qu’à la traduction entre différents systèmes de sens : les travaux menés dans le cadre de performances et d’installations dans l’espace public visent à confronter des scénarios de la vie réelle à des scénarios-tests semi-fictifs.
Le personnage de MacGhillie, qui déambule dans l’espace urbain, est vêtu d’une tenue de camouflage courante et ne ressemble pas à un individu, ni même à une personne. 

Plus
knowbotic research, minds of concern (New York Version), 2002

minds of concern (New York version), knowbotic research

Le projet Minds of concern, breaking news, qui a été conçu lors d’une exposition au New Museum de New York en 2002, repose sur une installation et des travaux en ligne. L’interface web du Public Domain Scanner permet aux visiteurs de l’exposition de choisir différents groupes sur le site Internet du projet, tels que des mouvements ou des ONG comme Oxfam, the Freedom from Debt Coalition et COSATU, mais également des activistes des médias ou des artistes, qui s’expriment de façon critique sur les activités mondiales de la communauté Internet.

Plus
knowbotic research, kotomisi un-inform, 2014 –2016

kotomisi un-inform, knowbotiq

Kotomisi est le nom d’un vêtement traditionnel du XVIIe siècle que portaient les esclaves avant et après leur affranchissement au Suriname, ancienne colonie néerlandaise. Le tissu utilisé pour confectionner la tenue en plusieurs épaisseurs, composée d’une jupe, d’une veste et d’une coiffe, était fabriqué via des processus de production et de distribution transrégionaux en Europe, en Afrique, en Asie et en Amérique.

Plus
collectif_fact, Circus, 2004, installation view

Circus, collectif_fact

L’installation vidéo Circus est née de la rencontre entre une méthode de prise de vue simple et statique à l’aide d’un appareil numérique, et une technique de pointe d’animation d’images.
Sur un fond noir indéterminé, différents micro-scénarios photographiés sur une place de Genève flottent en direction du spectateur, les multiples couches de l’image se décomposant avant de disparaître.

Plus
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot

Loading, collectif_fact

La vidéo animée Loading des artistes de collectif_fact montre une courte séquence, montée en boucle à l’infini, de deux files de camionnettes grises identiques qui entrent les unes à la suite des autres dans un parking, gris également. Le flot monotone des véhicules reste constant. Le décor semble fait de carton et l’action est ostensiblement factice et artificielle.

Plus
Jan Voellmy, Schnur, 2008, installation view

Schnur, Jan Voellmy

À travers son installation interactive Schnur, l’artiste bâlois Jan Voellmy transforme de façon ludique le son en un mouvement visible. La projection d’un morceau de ficelle collé au mur à l’aide d’un pansement rouge transpose via un microphone les sons produits par les visiteurs en un mouvement dansant de la ficelle, qui, le reste du temps, se balance légèrement au gré du brouhaha de l’exposition.

Plus
Atelier Hauert-Reichmuth mit Volker Böhm, LUMO LED, 2009

LUMO LED, Atelier Hauert-Reichmuth mit Volker Böhm

Chacun des modules est composé de 16 boîtiers lumineux contrôlés individuellement. Le nombre de pixels, bien que très réduit, permet de produire, grâce au mouvement, des univers visuels variés et des processus extrêmement complexes. Les automates cellulaires sont infiltrés par des systèmes chaotiques ; une fonction symétrique émerge discrètement des structures aléatoires.

Plus
Jodi, Max Payne Cheats Only, 2004, screenshot

Max Payne Cheats Only, Jodi

Max Payne Cheats Only est le dernier opus d’une série d’appropriations vidéoludiques du duo d’artistes néerlando-belge Jodi. Dans les règles de l’art de la programmation, le personnage de Max Payne, jeu de tir à la troisième personne, est déstructuré à travers une juxtaposition dénuée de sens de micro-actions répétitives.

Plus
Alexander Hahn, A Young Person’s Guide To Walking Outside The City, 1983, screenshot

A Young Person’s Guide To Walking Outside The City, Alexander Hahn

L’animation par ordinateur imaginée par l’artiste suisse Alexander Hahn en 1983, période de ses premières expositions, montre une promenade champêtre surréaliste. Après avoir été pris pour cible par un canon tirant des poissons volants, le protagoniste, un petit bonhomme bleu, échappe sur un vélo à ce même canon transformé en un monstre affamé.

Plus
Esther Hunziker, Frequency, 2008, screenshot

Frequency, Esther Hunziker

Pour mettre au point Frequency, Esther Hunziker a comprimé le found footage d’un concert live jusqu’à ce que les mouvements des musiciens se transforment en champs de couleur évoluant en permanence. La bande son, judicieusement qualifiée par l’artiste d’« électrosphérique », est composée de fréquences radio superposées.

Plus
Birgit Kempker, Sphinx, 2004 – ongoing, screenshot

Sphinx, Birgit Kempker

Sphinx est une plateforme littéraire en ligne lancée en 2004, sur laquelle les utilisateurs peuvent poser les questions les plus diverses et obtenir une réponse individuelle selon le principe de l’Oulipo (Ouvroir de littérature potentielle). C’est ce courant qui a inspiré à Kempker la forme de base de ses réponses en vers : les six sizains de la Sextine, forme poétique baroque.

Plus
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view

TV-Bot 1.0, Marc Lee

TV-Bot 1.0 était, comme ses deux successeurs actuels TV-Bot 2.0 et 3.0, une chaîne télévisée diffusée en live sur Internet, consistant à compiler en temps réel les dernières nouvelles du monde. De la première version ont été conservées trois courtes vidéos enregistrées à l’aide de logiciels de capture ad hoc.

Plus
collectif_fact, ce qui arrive, 2005, screenshot

ce qui arrive, collectif_fact

L’animation vidéo ce qui arrive montre une vue en coupe d’un grand immeuble de bureaux, dont les enfilades de couloirs et les salles de réunion anonymes pourraient être celles de n’importe quel pays occidental. Tandis que la caméra se déplace en continu de façon horizontale ou verticale le long du bâtiment, la configuration des personnes présentes dans chaque pièce se modifie au gré des fondus d’un plan fixe à un autre, ne permettant de saisir les mouvements des protagonistes que de façon fragmentée. 

Plus
Studer / van den Berg, travelogue, 2005, screenshot

travelogue, Studer / van den Berg

Travelogue, a Web game that Studer / van den Berg developed for the TV and Online-Project 56kTV bastard channel, is a first-person travelogue whose narrator is the user, trying to escape from the claustrophobic narrowness of an anonymous hotel room and the annoying background noise of a broken television.

Plus
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot

Every Icon, John F. Simon, Jr.

Originaire des États-Unis, l’artiste John F. Simon Jr. a mis au point le logiciel Every Icon, qui permet de générer, de haut en bas dans une grille composée de 32 x 32 carreaux blancs, toutes les combinaisons possibles de champs noirs et blancs, à une vitesse de 100 variantes par seconde.

Plus