Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still

Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke

Year: 2012
Type: Mixed Media Installation
Media Format: Black box, full HD projector, Intel Quad Core 3GHz, display card, 1024GB VRAM. Mac OSX10.6.8/7.x., 2 loudspeakers and Internet connection. Max MSP 6.0 program, Java Runtime Environment 6.0, Quicktime, possibly a mirror
Dimension: Minimum space requirements: 3 x 2.5 x 2.5 m
Duration:
Edition: Unique copy
Credits:
Acquisition: Donation Christoph Merian Stiftung, Basel, 2013. Inv. No. S0012.
Keywords:
Artwork Link:
Artist Website: http://www.michelwinterberg.ch

Info
prev
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, installation view at HeK, Photo: Stefan Holenstein
prev
next
With their installation Um die Ecke (Around the Corner), the Swiss artists Denis Handschin and Michel Winterberg have created a multiperspective portrait of Basel’s Dreispitz area. Film footage of the site is projected onto an assemblage of four prism-like triangular surfaces, while its acoustic and electronic characteristics are also provided, along with information relating to Basel’s archaeological soil research. Meteorological data and webcam images from the Internet also find their way into the quick and never simultaneously comprehensible cutting sequences of the heterogeneous film material. Because of the multi-layered surveying and research work behind the different influences on the Dreispitz area, the site cannot be experienced as an accessible place let alone a place one can ever access again. Instead, the artists have created an urban portrait that presents the site as the interplay between a multiplicity of specific visual and acoustic qualities. These qualities can, in turn, be reiterated continually in the surrounding of the prismatic projection quadrangle.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Michel Winterberg (* 1972), Basel, Switzerland
Denis Handschin (* 1981), Visp, Switzerland, both artists live and work in Basel.

Michel Winterberg and Denis Handschin alternate between working together and alone. Their artistic efforts include interactive installations and mixed-media, video and sound installations, as well as performance and conceptual projects. As a media artist, Michel Winterberg also programs real-time development environments, making use of physical computing and producing electronic sound designs. Denis Handschin addresses such issues as absence/presence and the impact of today’s constant overstimulation.

Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still

Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke

Year: 2012
Type: Installation Mixed Media
Media Format: Black box, full HD projector, Intel Quad Core 3GHz, display card, 1024GB VRAM. Mac OSX10.6.8/7.x., 2 loudspeakers and Internet connection. Max MSP 6.0 program, Java Runtime Environment 6.0, Quicktime, possibly a mirror
Dimension: Minimum space requirements: 3 x 2.5 x 2.5 m
Duration:
Edition: Unique copy
Credits:
Acquisition: Donation Christoph Merian Stiftung, Basel, 2013. Inv. No. S0012.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: https://vimeo.com/99582043
Artist Website: http://www.michelwinterberg.ch

Info
prev
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, still
Denis Handschin / Michel Winterberg, Um die Ecke, 2012, installation view at HeK, Photo: Stefan Holenstein
prev
next
À travers leur installation Um die Ecke, les Suisses Denis Handschin et Michel Winterberg dressent un portrait aux multiples perspectives du quartier bâlois du Dreispitz. Sur quatre surfaces triangulaires agencées en forme de prisme sont projetées des prises de vue du quartier, auxquelles sont appliquées des caractéristiques acoustiques et électroniques, ainsi que des informations du service d’archéologie de Bâle. Des données météorologiques et des images de webcams recueillies sur Internet ont également trouvé leur place dans ce matériau vidéo hétérogène, constitué de successions de plans rapides, impossibles à visionner simultanément dans leur ensemble. À partir du travail de mesurage et de recherche complexe sur les différents éléments locaux caractéristiques du quartier, ce dernier ne peut pas être appréhendé comme un lieu accessible et encore moins comme un lieu réhabilité. C’est un portrait urbain qui est dressé ici, celui d’un site apparaissant comme l’interaction d’une multitude d’éléments visuels et sonores spécifiques, qui peut être perpétuellement rejouée dans l’espace confiné du prisme de projection.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Michel Winterberg (*1972), Bâle, Suisse
Denis Handschin (*1981), Viège, Suisse, les deux artistes vivent et travaillent à Bâle.

Michel Winterberg et Denis Handschin travaillent alternativement ensemble et en solitaire. Leur pratique artistique comprend des installations interactives, multimédia, vidéo ou sonores, ainsi qu’une approche performative et conceptuelle. En tant qu’artiste multimédia, Michel Winterberg programme en outre des environnements de développement en temps réel, utilise le physical computing et produit des designs sonores électroniques. Denis Handschin travaille sur la thématique absence/présence et sur les effets de la sollicitation excessive perpétuelle à notre époque.