Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0

Year: 2010
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: 16:9 flat screen, speaker boxes, computer, Internet browser with flash plug-in, Internet connection, router, cable
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0001.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.1go1.net/56ktv/
Artist Website: http://www.1go1.net

Info
prev
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
prev
next
Since the end of the 1990s, the Swiss artist Marc Lee has been an important representative of net-based art. He is known for his experiments with digital-information and communication-technology strategies and also, increasingly, with user-generated content. 
The work TV-Bot 2.0 is a net-based, real-time television program, which collects extracts that are at the most one hour old from radio and TV livestreams, newspaper and Google News headlines as well as webcam images and Twitter messages. As a result, TV-Bot 2.0 is even more current than the familiar news formats. The software, which is an update of the software developed in 2004 for TV-Bot 1.0, does not, however, distinguish between relevant and irrelevant facts. Global information in real time results in an ocean of background noise: On its own, the criterion of topicality proves to be unhelpful in clarifying our view of the world and improving our ability to understand international contexts. At the same time, the multiplicity of sources demonstrates the drastic limitation of viewing world events only through individual news channels. 
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969), Knutwil, Switzerland, lives and works in Eglisau, Switzerland.

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0

Year: 2010
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: 16:9 flat screen, speaker boxes, computer, Internet browser with flash plug-in, Internet connection, router, cable
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0001.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.1go1.net/56ktv/
Artist Website: http://www.1go1.net

Info
prev
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 2.0, 2010, screenshot
prev
next
Depuis la fin des années 1990, le Suisse Marc Lee est considéré comme l’un des principaux représentants de l’art en ligne, grâce à ses expérimentations portant sur les stratégies des technologies de l’information et de la communication numériques, ainsi que sur le contenu généré par les utilisateurs (user generated content en anglais).
L’œuvre TV-Bot 2.0 est une chaîne télévisée en ligne en temps réel, qui compile des extraits de diffusions radiophoniques ou télévisées en direct sur Internet, des titres de presse et d’actualités Google, ainsi que des images de webcams et des tweets – dont la diffusion sur le web remonte à moins d’une heure. TV-Bot 2.0 surpasse ainsi avec les supports d’information classiques en termes d’actualité. Le logiciel, qui est une mise à jour de la version de 2004 baptisée TV-Bot 1.0, n’opère cependant aucune distinction basée sur la pertinence des faits. L’information mondiale en temps réel prend corps dans un véritable capharnaüm : le seul critère de l’actualité se révèle ainsi peu utile pour aiguiser notre regard sur le monde et mieux comprendre les enjeux internationaux. Dans le même temps, la diversité des sources souligne l’extrême étroitesse du point de vue porté sur la société à travers les différents canaux d’information.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969) à Knutwil, Suisse, il vit et travaille à Eglisau, Suisse.