Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, screenshot

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0

Year: 2004/2005
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: Original (2004): Data stream from the Internet, 16:9 flat screen, speakers, computer, Internet browser with flash plugin, Internet connection including router, cable. Videos (2005): flash, MP4
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 4' / 5' / 4'30''
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition:

Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0036.


Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.digital-art-collection.net
Artist Website: http://marclee.io/en/home

Info
prev
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
prev
next
TV-Bot 1.0 was – like its two current successors, TV-Bot 2.0 und 3.0 – a live-stream TV station that recombined current news stories in real time. Three short videos from the first version have been preserved using capture software. 
The viewer can always refer to the embedded source codes indicating the location, date and time. Live streams from TV news and radio streams are mounted against a background of constantly changing, live Webcam images from around the globe in the same rapid sequence, together with the pure textual level of international news headlines in the center of the screen.
The four levels – background, overlaid news, sound and embedded headlines – thus create constantly changing random conglomerates of events occurring simultaneously around the world. The only thing they share is temporal coherence, while spatial and content coherence are interrupted so that the memory – which thrives on the linking of space and content – cannot remember the information flow, and does not achieve to bring it into a broader context with other events. The most current information becomes a flood of disinformation and is thus questioned ironically as the order of the day for news services.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969), Knutwil, Switzerland, lives and works in Eglisau, Switzerland.

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, screenshot

Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0

Year: 2004/2005
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: Original (2004): Data stream from the Internet, 16:9 flat screen, speakers, computer, Internet browser with flash plugin, Internet connection including router, cable. Videos (2005): flash, MP4
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 4' / 5' / 4'30''
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition:

Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0036.


Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.digital-art-collection.net
Artist Website: http://marclee.io/en/home

Info
prev
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, screenshot
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
Marc Lee, TV-Bot 1.0, 2004/2005, installation view
prev
next
TV-Bot 1.0 était, comme ses deux successeurs actuels TV-Bot 2.0 et 3.0, une chaîne télévisée diffusée en live sur Internet, consistant à compiler en temps réel les dernières nouvelles du monde. De la première version ont été conservées trois courtes vidéos enregistrées à l’aide de logiciels de capture ad hoc. 
Le spectateur peut toujours se référer au code source du format diffusé à l’instant t, qui indique le lieu, la date et l’heure de l’extrait.
Sur les images de fond, composées de fragments de webcams live du monde entier qui changent en permanence, sont montés des passages d’émissions d’information télévisées et / ou radiophoniques diffusées en temps réel sur Internet, qui se succèdent tout aussi rapidement, auxquelles s’ajoutent encore des zones de texte reprenant les derniers gros titres de la presse internationale, insérés au milieu de l’image.
Les quatre niveaux que constituent l’image de fond, les montages d’actualités, le son diffusé en parallèle et les titres de journaux incrustés, constituent des ensembles aléatoires en perpétuelle mutation d’événements survenant simultanément dans le monde. Le seul élément qui relie ces données est la cohérence temporelle, tandis que l’unité géographique et la logique de fond sont brisées, de telle sorte que le flux d’information ne peut pas être enregistré et mis en relation avec d’autres événements à un niveau de sens supérieur, car la mémoire nécessaire à cela s’appuie sur le lien entre espace et contenu. L’information en temps réel se mue en désinformation envahissante et son caractère incontournable pour les services d’information se voit ainsi remis en question avec ironie.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969), à Knutwil, Suisse, il vit et travaille à Eglisau, Suisse.