Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still

Ursula Damm, Transits

Year: 2014
Type: Generative Video Installation
Media Format: MPEG4 (H264) and Blu-ray format video, aspect ratio 16:9, resolution 1920 x 1080 px. Devices used: Full-HD video projector, media player or computer, audio amplifier, loudspeakers
Dimension: Variable, wall-filling video projection
Duration: 64'3''
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt. Inv. No. S0006.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://ursuladamm.de/transits-2012
Artist Website: http://ursuladamm.de

Info
prev
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, installation view
prev
next
The installation Transits, produced for the HeK exhibition Sensing Place in 2012, uses 24 hours of video footage of Aeschenplatz in Basel to record traces of passers-by at an urban traffic intersection, and to make their characteristics visible. Software developed especially for this purpose  (by Martin Schneider) grasps the entire video image as a neural network map (Kohonen map). Every pixel of the video image is saved and then "remembered" or processed using special algorithms. On one hand we wanted long-abiding elements to be part of the picture; but on the other hand, this image processing also has its own dynamics: Colors are drawn to each other, and movements push pixels in the recognized direction. The resulting image fluctuates between a description of specific local events and the dynamics of image processing, as attributed to our brain, here preempted by software. 
(Text: Ursula Damm)

Artist Bio

Ursula Damm (*1960), Germany, lives and works in Weimar and Berlin.
She is a professor of media environments at the Bauhaus-University Weimar. Originally trained as a sculptor, she is now increasingly applying media-based techniques and methods of neuroscience to her installations. Her works often deal with the collective structures governing social interactions between organisms (humans and animals) in their environments.

Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still

Ursula Damm, Transits

Year: 2014
Type: Installation Générative Vidéo
Media Format: MPEG4 (H264) and Blu-ray format video, aspect ratio 16:9, resolution 1920 x 1080 px. Devices used: Full-HD video projector, media player or computer, audio amplifier, loudspeakers
Dimension: Variable, wall-filling video projection
Duration: 64'3''
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt. Inv. No. S0006.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://ursuladamm.de/transits-2012
Artist Website: http://ursuladamm.de

Info
prev
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, still
Ursula Damm, Transits, 2012, installation view
prev
next
L’installation Transits, produite pour l’exposition Sensing Place qui s’est tenue à la HeK en 2012, utilise 24h de captations vidéo réalisées sur la place Aeschenplatz de Bâle pour suivre les traces des passants sur l’un des points névralgiques de la ville en termes de transport et faire ressortir leurs caractéristiques. Un logiciel spécialement conçu à cet effet (par Martin Schneider) appréhende l’ensemble de l’image vidéo comme une carte auto-adaptative (carte de Kohonen). Chaque pixel est enregistré et « remémoré » ou traité par la suite à l’aide d’algorithmes spéciaux. D’un côté, nous voulions que les éléments demeurant longtemps s’inscrivent dans l’image, mais de l’autre, ce traitement d’image possède sa propre dynamique : les couleurs habillent le décor et les mouvements poussent les pixels dans la direction identifiée. Le résultat pictural oscille entre la description d’événements spécifiques au lieu et la dynamique propre du traitement de l’image, tel qu’il est attribué à notre cerveau, mais anticipé ici par un logiciel.
(Texte : Ursula Damm)

Artist Bio

Ursula Damm (*1960), en Allemagne, vit et travaille à Weimar et à Berlin.
Elle est professeure à la Bauhaus-Universität de Weimar dans le domaine des Media Environments. Initialement formée à la sculpture, elle inclut aujourd’hui de plus en plus les techniques numériques et les méthodes des neurosciences dans ses installations. Ses travaux portent souvent sur les structures collectives qui définissent les interactions sociales des organismes (hommes et animaux) dans leurs cadres de vie respectifs.