Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still

Adam Cruces, Patience

Year: 2011
Type: Digital Video
Media Format: DVD (MPEG 2) or mov file (H.264), aspect ratio 16:9, 800 x 500 px, audio: stereo, color; iMac, headphones; or screen/wall, projector, loudspeaker, media player
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 2'
Edition: Unlimited
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0005.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfJu8M1lYJM
Artist Website: http://www.adamcruces.com

Info
prev
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, screenshot on youtube
prev
next

One of the American artist Adam Cruces’s main interests is the specific aesthetics of the digital world. In the video loop Patience, he shows the face of a computer-generated beauty. Her features remain immobile, while the hypnotic waves of a Mac-OS screensaver move up and down in her hollowed-out eyes. On her forehead, the rainbow-colored Mac wait cursor – which appears, e.g., before an especially large data file opens – spins incessantly. In the background, the sound of a rebooting Mac OS is repeated over and over. The only animated aspect of the object facing us is the dynamic vocabulary of those software functions that are supposed to ease our waiting: waiting for the system to start up, waiting for the file to open and waiting till the keyboard can be activated again. Cruces plays here with our fascination for parallel digital worlds, in which life time is substituted by virtual time. It’s about the promise of making contact, which is indicated by the cropped proximity and frontality of the face, as well as by the position of the mouth – slightly open as if to speak. This promise, though constantly postponed, seems to be within reach behind the sightless eyes, if only we have enough patience. 
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Adam Cruces (*1985) Houston, Texas, USA, lives and works in Zürich, Switzerland.

Cruces’s site-specific installations examine, for example, the way we distribute our time between obligations and leisure activities in the context of our modern lifestyles. His works also address the media revolution, and he is constantly searching for specific aesthetic approaches to the digital world.

Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still

Adam Cruces, Patience

Year: 2011
Type: Vidéo Digitale
Media Format: DVD (MPEG 2) or mov file (H.264), aspect ratio 16:9, 800 x 500 px, audio: stereo, color; iMac, headphones; or screen/wall, projector, loudspeaker, media player
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 2'
Edition: Unlimited
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0005.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfJu8M1lYJM
Artist Website: http://www.adamcruces.com

Info
prev
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, still
Adam Cruces, Patience, 2011, screenshot on youtube
prev
next

L’artiste américain Adam Cruces, qui s’intéresse notamment à l’esthétique spécifique du numérique, montre dans sa boucle vidéo Patience le visage d’une beauté générée par ordinateur. Ses traits demeurent immobiles, tandis que les ondulations hypnotiques d’un écran de veille Mac OS flottent dans ses yeux vides. Sur son front, la roue arc-en-ciel Mac tourne à l’infini, comme dans l’attente de l’ouverture d’un fichier volumineux. En fond, on entend également en boucle le son de démarrage de Mac OS. Le seul élément vivant de notre interlocutrice est le vocabulaire dynamique des fonctions logicielles destinées à meubler l’attente : l’attente jusqu’au démarrage du système, l’attente jusqu’à l’ouverture du fichier, l’attente jusqu’à ce que le clavier soit à nouveau fonctionnel. Cruces joue ici avec notre fascination pour les mondes parallèles numériques, dans lesquels le temps virtuel se substitue au temps de vie. Il s’agit là de la promesse d’une prise de contact, évoquée par la proximité et la frontalité du visage qui se découpe sur l’arrière-plan, ainsi que par la bouche entrouverte, comme prête à parler. Pourtant, cette rencontre reste perpétuellement suspendue, à portée de main derrière les yeux vides, exigeant de nous encore un peu plus de patience.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

*1985 Houston, Texas, États-Unis, il vit et travaille à Zurich, Suisse

Les installations de Cruces sont destinées à des lieux bien spécifiques et analysent notamment la répartition du temps entre obligations et loisirs dans nos styles de vie modernes. Ses œuvres traitent également du bouleversement médiatique et traduisent toujours la recherchent d’un esthétique spécifique du numérique.