Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project

Marc Lee, Pic-Me V1 (Version 1)

Year: 2014
Type: Digital Video
Media Format: Pic-me V1 (Version 1) benötigte das Google Earth Browser-Plug-in, welches bis Anfang 2016 verfügbar war. Screencast-Video, MP4, 1920 x 1080 px
Dimension:
Duration: 1'27''
Edition: Unique
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0022.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: pic-me.com
Artist Website: marclee.io/de/home/

Info
prev
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
prev
next
In his Internet work Pic-Me, the Swiss media artist Marc Lee links the social platform Instagram with a Google Earth browser plug-in, which allows him to pinpoint the location of Instagram users who have just posted a selfie under the hashtag #me.
While the post itself is shown in a small image window, the Google Earth bird’s-eye view in the background zooms in closer and closer until it identifies the precise location of the post’s upload. The combination of Facebook’s geotagging and Google’s digital surveillance of the world, which becomes more accurate with every new version, makes even the last vestiges of anonymity in the web, which might be suggested by a fake user name or an acronym, seem obsolete. In this way, for example, the video message of an angry girlfriend to her partner leads directly to her apartment. 
Through the pinpointing of the location of a post, the loss of privacy in the Internet is vividly illustrated, as is the question of what will happen to all the posted information and microstories that are collected, linked with one another and constantly re-evaluated by large Internet concerns like Google and Facebook. 
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969), Knutwil, Switzerland, lives and works in Eglisau, Switzerland.

Marc Lee experiments with information and communication technology and has been creating network-oriented interactive art projects, interactive installations, media art, Internet art, performance art and video art since 1999.

Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project

Marc Lee, Pic-Me V1 (Version 1)

Year: 2014
Type: Vidéo Digitale
Media Format: Pic-me V1 (Version 1) benötigte das Google Earth Browser-Plug-in, welches bis Anfang 2016 verfügbar war. Screencast-Video, MP4, 1920 x 1080 px
Dimension:
Duration: 1'27''
Edition: Unique
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0022.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: pic-me.com
Artist Website: marclee.io/de/home/

Info
prev
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
Marc Lee, Pic Me, 2014, Online Project
prev
next
Dans son œuvre en ligne Pic-Me, l'artiste média suisse Marc Lee associe la plateforme Instagram et un plugin Google Earth, qui permet de localiser les utilisateurs du réseau social venant de publier un selfie avec le hashtag #me.
Pendant que l'observateur observe la photo dans une petite fenêtre, la prise de vue aérienne de Google Earth en arrière-plan zoome jusqu'à l'adresse précise où la l'image a été chargée. La fonction de géolocalisation de Facebook associée à la cartographie numérique du monde de plus en plus précise par Google balaye les derniers fragments d'anonymat sur Internet, même ceux que pouvaient encore suggérer de faux noms d'utilisateurs ou des acronymes. Ainsi, le message vidéo d'une jeune femme en colère à son partenaire conduit directement à son domicile.
La localisation des publications permet de mettre en évidence de façon plastique la disparition de la sphère privée sur Internet et soulève la question du devenir de toutes les informations et microstories publiées, qui sont collectées, mises en relation et toujours mieux exploitées par les géants du net, tels que Google ou Facebook.
(Texte: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Marc Lee (*1969), Knutwil, Suisse, vit et travaille à Eglisau, Suisse.

Depuis 1999, Marc Lee expérimente les technologies de l'information et de la communication et crée des projets artistiques interactifs axés sur le réseau, des installations interactives, des œuvres d'art sous forme numérique ou en ligne, ou encore de performances et des vidéo artistiques.