Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot

Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie

Year: 2003 / 2016
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: Program code, source code (HTML 5), database, emulator
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition:
Donation of the artists, 2016. Inv. No. S0014.

Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://onewordmovie.com
Artist Website: http://www.onewordmovie.ch/brogle

Info
prev
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
prev
next
Beat Brogle and Philippe Zimmermann have developed software for their participatory Web art onewordmovie that – via a connection to a common Web browser such as Netscape or Internet Explorer – compiles all pictures linked under a search term into one film. This gives rise to Web-based film sequences that enable an artistic access to user-determined Internet content, which in turn can give concrete information about political and social conditions within the real world, since the images are listed according to their position in the search hit list. For example, the search term “I” yields mostly images of white men.
Though word, still and moving images coexist in the Net, the means of accessing the information contained in these media formats is almost exclusively text based. Since no one has yet succeeded in programming a search function that can analyze images, the software accesses keywords from the meta-text of the images, such as file names or text data in the image area. The resulting errors that creep in are indicative of the – at least so far – unmatchable complexity of the iconic autonomy.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Beat Brogle's artistic work deals with morphological processes and associations at the edge of perception. The work is expressed through various media, including drawings, room installations, film / video, interactive installations and web projects. He lives and works in Berlin and Basel. 
Philippe Zimmermann studied environmental sciences in Zurich. He worked for several years in the IT departments of IBM and Siemens before co-founding a company for the development of Web applications. Since 2001 he has worked at the ETH in Zürich in the field of Man-Machine Interaction.

Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot

Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie

Year: 2003 / 2016
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: Program code, source code (HTML 5), database, emulator
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition:
Donation of the artists, 2016. Inv. No. S0014.

Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://onewordmovie.com
Artist Website: http://www.onewordmovie.ch/brogle

Info
prev
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
Beat Brogle / Philippe Zimmermann, onewordmovie, 2003 / 2016, screenshot
prev
next

Pour leur œuvre en ligne participative onewordmovie, Beat Brogle et Philippe Zimmermann ont mis au point un logiciel capable de générer un film en combinant toutes les images liées à un mot-clé de recherche entré dans les principaux explorateurs Internet comme Netscape ou Internet Explorer. Ils créent ainsi des séquences vidéo en ligne permettant une approche artistique des contenus Internet en lien avec les utilisateurs. Cette approche livre des informations concrètes sur la situation politique et sociale de la sphère réelle, car les images sont affichées en fonction de leur position dans la liste de résultats. Ainsi, la recherche du terme « ich » (« je » en allemand) livre en premier lieu des images d’hommes blancs.
Si mot, image et image animée coexistent sur le web, les possibilités d’accès aux informations contenues dans les différents médias est quasi-exclusivement basée sur le texte. Comme il n’existe à ce jour aucune fonction de recherche capable d’analyser les images, le logiciel s’appuie sur des mots-clés tirés sur métatexte des images, tels que le nom des fichiers ou les indications textuelles présentes dans l’environnement direct de l’image. Les exceptions qui s’introduisent dans les résultats sont des indicateurs de l’autonomie iconique, impossible à saisir dans toute sa diversité – du moins à ce jour.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Les travaux artistiques de Beat Brogles abordent les processus et les associations morphologiques en marge de la perception. Ils prennent corps à travers différents supports, tels que des dessins, des installations, des films ou des vidéos, des installations interactives et des projets en ligne. Il vit et travaille à Berlin et à Bâle.
Philippe Zimmermann a étudié les sciences environnementales à Zurich. Il a travaillé plusieurs années au sein des services informatiques d’IBM et Siemens, avant de cofonder une entreprise de développement d’applications web. Depuis 2001, il travaille à l’EPF de Zurich dans le domaine de l’interaction homme-machine.