Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, screenshot

Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud , New Nations

Year: 2009–2011
Type: Internet Community Project
Media Format: Router: TL-WR841ND (with handmade aluminum box), operating system OpenWRT Attitude Adjustment 12.09, wooden box, folded leaflet, book
Dimension: Wooden box: 26 x 25 x 42.4 cm; router: 18 x 18 x 5.5 cm
Duration:
Edition: 4/5 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0003.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.new-nations.net
Artist Website: http://www.wachter-jud.net

Info
prev
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, screenshot
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, Kunsthaus Langenthal
prev
next
Like many of the net-based works of the Swiss artist duo Wachter and Jud, New Nations illustrates the power structures of the Internet. The work is a router designed to display the limits of the freedom of the digital-communications community. While nations and governments have their own control areas (.de, .fr, .ch, .com, .mil, .gov), there are no official top-level domains for unrecognized communities such as the Tibetans (.ti), Kurds (.ku), Uyghurs (.uu) and Tamils (.te). In order to make tangible the political power interests that the virtual world shapes in the background, the artists set up their own domain-name server (DNS), which corresponds to the website www.new-nations.net. Via DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol), the router automatically links the connected computer with the DNS server New Nations. If the user does not change the network settings on his/her computer, the websites of the above-named top-level domains remain inaccessible.

Artist Bio

Christoph Wachter (*1966), Zurich, Switzerland
Mathias Jud (*1974), Zurich, Switzerland, they live and work in Berlin.

Since 2000, Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud have worked together on participatory joint projects that illustrate Internet censure and the limits of the digital-communications community. Their interventions question, for example, the degree of our online freedom, the digital divide and the controls that determine what we can see. With works like Zone Interdite (2000–), [ o ] picidae (2007–), New Nations (2009–) or Can you hear me? (2014), the two artists reveal images of restricted areas and create open, independent communication networks that are available to all. In this way, they invite us to reflect upon new courses of action and provide tools to overcome censorship.

Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, screenshot

Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud , New Nations

Year: 2009–2011
Type: Projet Internet Communautaire
Media Format: Router: TL-WR841ND (with handmade aluminum box), operating system OpenWRT Attitude Adjustment 12.09, wooden box, folded leaflet, book
Dimension: Wooden box: 26 x 25 x 42.4 cm; router: 18 x 18 x 5.5 cm
Duration:
Edition: 4/5 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Bundeskunstsammlung, Bern. Inv. No. S0003.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.new-nations.net
Artist Website: http://www.wachter-jud.net

Info
prev
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, screenshot
Christoph Wachter / Mathias Jud, New Nations, 2009–2011, Kunsthaus Langenthal
prev
next
Comme nombre des œuvres en ligne du duo d’artistes que forment Wachter et Jud, New Nations met en évidence les structures du pouvoir liées à Internet. Il s’agit ici d’un routeur conçu pour matérialiser les limites de la liberté au sein de la société de la communication numérique. Tandis que les nations et les gouvernements fédéraux possèdent leur propre aire de contrôle (.de, .fr, .ch, .com, .mil, .gov), il n’existe officiellement aucun domaine de premier niveau pour les communautés non reconnues, telles que les Tibétains (.ti), les Kurdes (.ku), les Ouïghours (.uu) et les Tamouls (.te). Afin de rendre tangibles les intérêts politiques concrets qui façonnent l’univers virtuel en arrière-plan, les artistes ont créé leur propre système de noms de domaine (DNS), disponible sur le site www.new-nations.net. Via le protocole DHCP, le routeur connecte automatiquement au serveur DNS New Nations les ordinateurs raccordés. Si l’utilisateur ne modifie pas les paramètres réseau de son poste, les sites Internet des domaines de premier niveau en question ne sont pas accessibles.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Christoph Wachter (*1966), à Zurich, Suisse
Mathias Jud (*1974), à Zurich, Suisse, ils travaillent et vivent à Berlin.

Depuis 2000, le duo d’artistes composé de Christoph Wachter et Mathias Jud élabore des projets communautaires participatifs destinés à souligner la censure sur Internet et les limites de la société de la communication numérique. Leurs interventions interrogent par exemple notre degré de liberté sur le web, la fracture numérique et les contrôles qui déterminent ce à quoi nous pouvons accéder. Avec des œuvres telles que Zone Interdite (depuis 2000), [ o ] picidae (depuis 2007), New Nations (depuis 2009) ou Can you hear me? (2014), les deux artistes dévoilent les images de zones interdites et imaginent de nouveaux réseaux de communication ouverts et indépendants, à la disposition de tous. Ils nous invitent ainsi à réfléchir à de nouvelles possibilités d’action et proposent des instruments pour contourner la censure.