collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot

collectif_fact, Loading

Year: 2006
Type: Digital Video
Media Format: Video SD, 4/3, 576i
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 42'' loop
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0031.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.digital-art-collection.net
Artist Website: http://www.collectif-fact.ch

Info
prev
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot
prev
next
The animated video Loading by the artist group collectif_fact shows an endlessly looped, short sequence of identical, grey delivery vans that drive two by two into an equally grey parking garage. The monotonous flow of the vans never changes. The scenery appears to be made of cardboard and the plot is obviously set-up and unnatural. 
The artists are neither playing with the ambiguity of everyday objects that appear as sculpted, as contrived, as in the installations of Fischli/Weiss. Nor, in the end, the incidental still dissolves into the disturbing, as in the case of the minutely reconstructed interiors of Thomas Demand. What happens is actually nothing: something that the viewers don’t expect when dealing with a work of art that is so clearly recognizable as artificial. In the presentation, which is unsurpassed in boredom and lack of excitement, the artists succeed – with a wink - in rendering the unexpected representable. 
(Text: Bettina Back) 

Artist Bio

Collectif_fact is  Annelore Schneider and Claude Piguet. They live and work in both London and Geneva.
Their projects, particularly videos, are often a deconstruction of what we perceive as cinematographic codes of our visual culture. collectif_fact are fascinated by the daily repetition, stereotypes and clichés from popular culture. They deal mostly with aspects of the(anti) spectacle, simulacra and appropriation. In order to accomplish this, they investigate the ways in which narration can be taken apart and restructured to form different stories and alternative meanings. Through the appropriation of cinematographic codes and strategies in their works, they encourage the observer to reflect critically on the habits that condition our perception of reality.
From 2002 to 2009 collectif_fact included also Swann Thommen.

collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot

collectif_fact, Loading

Year: 2006
Type: Vidéo Digitale
Media Format: Video SD, 4/3, 576i
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 42'' loop
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0031.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.digital-art-collection.net
Artist Website: http://www.collectif-fact.ch

Info
prev
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot
collectif_fact, Loading, 2007, screenshot
prev
next

La vidéo animée Loading des artistes de collectif_fact montre une courte séquence, montée en boucle à l’infini, de deux files de camionnettes grises identiques qui entrent les unes à la suite des autres dans un parking, gris également. Le flot monotone des véhicules reste constant. Le décor semble fait de carton et l’action est ostensiblement factice et artificielle.
Cependant, les artistes ne jouent pas avec l’ambivalence des objets du quotidien, qui paraissent sculptés, façonnés, comme cela pourrait être le cas dans une installation de Fischli/Weiss. On n’assiste pas non plus au basculement final de l’accessoire vers le dérangeant, comme dans les intérieurs minutieusement copiés de Thomas Demand. L’intérêt de ce travail repose sur le fait qu’il ne se passe rien, les spectateurs ne s’attendant justement pas à cela en étant confrontés à une œuvre d’art si clairement artificielle. À travers cette mise en scène, dont l’ennui et la monotonie peuvent difficilement être surpassés, les artistes ont réussi avec humour à rendre l’imprévu représentable.
(Texte : Bettina Back)  

Artist Bio

collectif_fact est composé d’Annelore Schneider et de Claude Piguet. Ils vivent et travaillent entre Londres et Genève.
Leurs projets – principalement des vidéos – proposent souvent une déconstruction de ce nous considérons comme le code cinématographique de notre culture visuelle. Fascinés par la répétition quotidienne, les stéréotypes et les clichés de la culture populaire, les artistes de collectif_fact travaillent principalement sur les aspects de l’(anti)spectacle, du simulacre et de l’appropriation. Ils analysent ainsi la manière de rompre et de restructurer la narration, afin de construire des histoires différentes et des significations alternatives. En se réappropriant les codes et les stratégies cinématographiques dans leurs œuvres, les artistes encouragent le spectateur à s’interroger de façon critique sur les habitudes qui conditionnent notre perception de la réalité.
De 2002 à 2009, collectif_fact réunissait Annelore Schneider, Claude Piguet et Swann Thommen.