Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot

Jodi, div. [property]

Year: 2013
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: Source code: HTML, CSS, Javascript; computer, other output devices (projector, screen)
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition: 2/5 + 2 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2013. Inv. No. S0013.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://x20xx.com/div_property.html
Artist Website: http://wwwwwwwww.jodi.org

Info
prev
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot
prev
next
The Website div.[property] consists of an animation in which the two standard desktop background images of the Mac Leopard and Windows XP operating systems intersect horizontally, vertically and diagonally in a constant rotation. It playfully enacts the split in the user community between these two most frequently used operating systems.
The title refers to the Internet programming languages HTML and Javascript. The div. label defines a field or a section in an HTML document to which a property is assigned – here the rotations of the two background images with Java. 
As in their famous game-modification works, these two pioneers of Internet art separate individual elements of a commercial product from their original context and reassemble them as a new Internet artwork. Usually, the deconstruction is accompanied by a shift in roles, as is the case here, where the images change from static backgrounds to leading actors in a new work.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Joan Heemskerk (*1968), Kaatsheuvel, the Netherlands
Dirk Paesmans (*1965), Brussels, Belgium, both artists live and work in the Netherlands.

Behind the pseudonyms JODI or jodi.org, which is also a Website, hides a Dutch artistic collective consisting of Joan Heemskerk and Dirk Paesmans. Originally trained in the fields of photography and video art, the two are now viewed as pioneers of Internet art. Since the middle of the 1990s, they have been creating their technologically abstract works with and in the Internet and devoting themselves primarily to software and game art. For their game modifications, they utilize the aesthetics of errors and glitches in order to deconstruct the architecture of computer games.

Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot

Jodi, div. [property]

Year: 2013
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: Source code: HTML, CSS, Javascript; computer, other output devices (projector, screen)
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition: 2/5 + 2 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2013. Inv. No. S0013.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://x20xx.com/div_property.html
Artist Website: http://wwwwwwwww.jodi.org

Info
prev
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot
Jodi, div. [property], 2013, screenshot
prev
next
Le site Internet div.[property] présente une animation dans laquelle les deux fonds d’écran par défaut des systèmes d’exploitation Mac Leopard et Windows XP se succèdent en se scindant perpétuellement dans un mouvement de rotation horizontale, verticale et diagonale. Cette œuvre illustre de manière ludique la division de la communauté d’utilisateurs entre les deux systèmes d’exploitation les plus connus.
Le titre fait référence aux langages de programmation Internet HTML et Javascript. L’élément div. définit une zone ou une section d’un document HTML, à laquelle est attribuée une propriété (property) – ici la rotation des deux images de fond avec Java.
Comme dans leurs célèbres travaux Game Modification, les deux pionniers de l’art en ligne isolent ici différents éléments d’un produit commercial de leur contexte initial et les combinent pour créer une nouvelle œuvre en ligne. La déconstruction opérée s’accompagne la plupart du temps d’un changement de rôle, comme ici, où les deux fonds d’écran, faisant habituellement office de figurants, deviennent les acteurs principaux de la mise en scène.
(Texte : Bettina Back) 

Artist Bio

Joan Heemskerk (*1968), Kaatsheuvel, Pays-Bas
Dirk Paesmans (*1965), Bruxelles, Belgique, ils vivent et travaillent aux Pays-Bas.

Sous le pseudonyme Jodi ou jodi.org, qui est également le nom d’un site Internet, se cache un collectif d’artistes néerlandais. Initialement formés dans les domaines de la photographie et de l’art vidéo, ils sont aujourd’hui considérés comme les pionniers de l’art en ligne. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, ils créent des œuvres technologiques abstraites avec et sur Internet, et se consacrent principalement à l’art logiciel et à l’art du jeu vidéo. Pour réaliser leurs modifications, ils exploitent l’esthétique des erreurs et des parasites pour déstructurer les jeux vidéo.