Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998

Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double

Year: 1997 – 1998
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: For the original version: 726 HTML files and 726 GIF files; for the 2016 version: 726 HTML files, 726 GIF files and 1 CSS file Screen: 640 x 480 px – 1920 x 1080 px; desktop computer, e.g., Netscape 2.0 / Windows 98; HTML 5 or CCS 3 browser, e.g., Firefox 47.0 / Windows XP
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition: 3 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Donation of the artists, 2016. Inv. No. S0017.
Keywords:
Artwork Link:
Artist Website: http://studervandenberg.ch

Info
prev
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
prev
next
Monica Studer and Christoph van den Berg are among Switzerland’s pioneers of media art. The three so-called filter works were created between 1996 and 1998. "These filters can be used to cool down from the search for meaning in the www and to move on aimlessly – like in a road movie," the artists explain.
The title of the third work, filter: mixed double, comes from the sports world and stands for two teams, each made up of one man and one woman, who compete against each other. Through the use of then-common search machines such as AltaVista and an algorithm, word juxtapositions were generated, each of which displayed two states of mind. Since the results are not predictable, the experience of the work becomes an emotional trip that is full of surprises. 
In order for the search queries to function properly, the artists had to reprogram filter: mixed double to run through the interfaces of current search engines.
(Text: Sabine Himmelsbach)

Artist Bio

Monica Studer (*1960 Zurich) and Christoph van den Berg (*1962 Basel), both artists live and work in Basel.  Studer / van den Berg have been working together since 1991. They completed their first Internet project in 1996.

Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998

Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double

Year: 1997 – 1998
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: For the original version: 726 HTML files and 726 GIF files; for the 2016 version: 726 HTML files, 726 GIF files and 1 CSS file Screen: 640 x 480 px – 1920 x 1080 px; desktop computer, e.g., Netscape 2.0 / Windows 98; HTML 5 or CCS 3 browser, e.g., Firefox 47.0 / Windows XP
Dimension: Variable
Duration:
Edition: 3 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Donation of the artists, 2016. Inv. No. S0017.
Keywords:
Artwork Link:
Artist Website: http://studervandenberg.ch

Info
prev
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
Studer / van den Berg, filter: mixed double, 1997 – 1998
prev
next

Monica Studer et Christoph van den Berg comptent parmi les pionniers de l’art numérique en Suisse. Leurs trois travaux « filter » ont vu le jour entre 1996 et 1998. « On peut utiliser nos œuvres filter pour s’éloigner des recherches ciblées sur Internet et naviguer sans but précis – un peu comme dans un road movie », expliquent les artistes.
Le titre du troisième opus, filter: mixed double, est tiré du domaine sportif et fait référence à deux équipes qui s’opposent, composées chacune d’un homme et d’une femme. Des couples de mots, évoquant à chaque fois deux états d’esprit, sont générés par un algorithme via l’utilisation de moteurs de recherche courants à l’époque, comme AltaVista. Le résultat étant aléatoire, l’expérience se transforme en un véritable voyage émotionnel, empli de surprises.
Pour des questions de fonctionnalité, l’œuvre des artistes a dû être reprogrammée afin de pouvoir être compatible avec les interfaces des moteurs de recherche actuels.
(Texte : Sabine Himmelsbach)

Artist Bio

Monica Studer (*1960 à Zurich) et Christoph van den Berg (*1962 à Bâle), ils vivent et travaillent à Bâle. 
Collaboration artistique depuis 1991, projets Internet depuis 1996.