John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot

John F. Simon, Jr., Every Icon

Year: 1997
Type: Internet Artwork
Media Format: Software, Java Applet
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 300 trillion years
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0037.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.numeral.com/projects/web/everyIcon/everyIcon.php
Artist Website: http://www.numeral.com

Info
prev
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot
prev
next

In his work Every Icon, the US American artist John F. Simon, Jr. has programmed software that runs through all possible combinations of black and white fields in a grid of 32 x 32 squares, at a rate of 100 variants per second, from top to bottom. The project was begun on January 14, 1997 promptly at 9:00 AM. On June 8, 1998, the first cell in the second row became black. If the first row needed 1.5 years to display all 4.3 trillion possibilities, the time factor for each additional row increases exponentially. Six trillion years have already been estimated for the second row. By the time the last programmed image appears – with all 1,024 squares turning black – several hundred trillion years will have passed.  A bit earlier, in only a few trillion years, one would be able to pick out the shape of a square or an arrow.
Simon describes his work as a reaction to the post-modern prognosis of the end of the image, in the late 1980s. With his minimalist, computer-generated design, he makes a major contribution to the inexhaustible variety of image-generating artistic processes. Thus, the revealing of the visual power of his work keeps us waiting.
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

John F. Simon, Jr. comes from Louisiana. After studying Earth and planetary science and art in St. Louis and New York, he worked as a programmer at a central Internet art project on such works as Jenny Holzer’s Please Change Beliefs, Lawrence Weiner’s Homeport, and Kolmar and Melamid’s famous project, The Most Wanted Paintings, before starting on his own projects.

John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot

John F. Simon, Jr., Every Icon

Year: 1997
Type: Art Internet
Media Format: Software, Java Applet
Dimension: Variable
Duration: 300 trillion years
Edition:
Credits:
Acquisition: Permanent loan from the Digital Art Collection, Basel (Annette Schindler and Reinhard Storz), 2017. Inv. No. S0037.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://www.numeral.com/projects/web/everyIcon/everyIcon.php
Artist Website: http://www.numeral.com

Info
prev
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot
John F. Simon Jr., Every Icon, 1997 – ongoing, screenshot
prev
next
Originaire des États-Unis, l’artiste John F. Simon Jr. a mis au point le logiciel Every Icon, qui permet de générer, de haut en bas dans une grille composée de 32 x 32 carreaux blancs, toutes les combinaisons possibles de champs noirs et blancs, à une vitesse de 100 variantes par seconde. Le projet a été lancé le 14 janvier 1997 à 9 heures précises. Le 8 juin 1998, la première cellule du deuxième rang s’est colorée en noir. S’il a fallu un an et demi au premier rang pour représenter la totalité des 4,3 billions de configurations possibles, le facteur temps augmente de façon exponentielle pour chacun des 32 rangs de la grille. Ainsi, pour le deuxième rang, on table sur quelque six billions d’années. Pour que les 1024 cases apparaissent toutes en noir, générant ainsi la dernière image programmée, il faudrait plusieurs centaines de trillions d’années. Selon l’artiste, on pourrait voir apparaître un carré ou une flèche au bout de quelques trillions d’années.
Simon décrit son œuvre comme une réaction au verdict postmoderniste annonçant la fin de l’image à la fin des années 1980. À travers un ordre minimaliste généré par ordinateur, il prouve la diversité inépuisable des procédés artistiques de génération d’images. Mais pour percevoir toute la force visuelle de son œuvre, il faudra attendre encore un peu.
(Texte : Bettina Back)  

Artist Bio

Simon est originaire de Louisiane. Après des études de sciences (« Earth and planetary science ») et d’art à Saint-Louis et à New York, il a collaboré comme programmateur dans le cadre d’importants projets d’art en ligne, tels que « Please Change Beliefs » de Jenny Holzers, « Homeport » de Lawrence Weiner ou le fameux projet « The Most Wanted Paintings » de Kolmar et Melamid, avant de se consacrer à ses propres travaux.