Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still

Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866

Year: 2012
Type: Digital Video
Media Format: HD 1920 x 1080 px, b/w, sound, loop, digital file: mov/mp4. Flat screen 16:9 with integrated loudspeakers or separate loudspeakers, amplifier, possibly equalizer and media player
Dimension:
Duration: 15'38''
Edition: 1/6 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt. Inv. No. S0008.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: https://vimeo.com/56026385
Artist Website: http://www.ref17.net/hunziker/index.html

Info
prev
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, installation view at HeK
prev
next
EHB 5866 is the fictitious galaxy of the Basel artist Esther Hunziker, which consists of a hundredfold superimposition of a single real photograph of the Mars moon Phobus. Rather than around the red planet, the layers of the celestial body’s image rotate around themselves in changing constellations. In a bound, synchronous rotation that corresponds to the movement of the real Mars moon, the individual image layers with their major differences in scale generate an immense picture depth. The multiple gradations of the same image that float before our eyes allow us to constantly compare the characteristics of the moon’s surface and form structures. In this way, the image penetrates the retina in a more intrinsic way than the original photograph taken by the European Space Agency (ESA) ever could. Chus Martínez aptly describes this attribute of Hunziker’s fictitious worlds as the enabling of a new, broader understanding of physical qualities or qualitative processes of the real within a new, digital reality. 
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Esther Hunziker (*1969), lives and works in Basel.

Esther Hunziker is a Swiss freelance artist and lecturer on digital media. She works as a media designer with a focus on web design. Before studying art, she learned the trade of dressmaking and studied fashion design in Basel. Afterwards, she established her own fashion brand, worked as a screen designer, experimented with analog video-editing technology and created her first interactive narrative forms in the digital network. The artist’s creations are often based on surveillance technologies, objets trouvés, architectural photos, deconstructions or montages. They address the clash between apparent realities and real illusory worlds.

Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still

Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866

Year: 2012
Type: Vidéo Digitale
Media Format: HD 1920 x 1080 px, b/w, sound, loop, digital file: mov/mp4. Flat screen 16:9 with integrated loudspeakers or separate loudspeakers, amplifier, possibly equalizer and media player
Dimension:
Duration: 15'38''
Edition: 1/6 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired with BAK (Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern) funds as part of the research project Digitale Medienkunst am Oberrhein, 2012. On permanent loan from the Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt. Inv. No. S0008.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: https://vimeo.com/56026385
Artist Website: http://www.ref17.net/hunziker/index.html

Info
prev
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, still
Esther Hunziker, EHB 5866, 2012, installation view at HeK
prev
next
EHB 5866 est la galaxie fictive de l’artiste bâloise Esther Hunziker, composée d’une unique photographie réelle de Phobos, un satellite de Mars. Superposées au centuples, les reproductions de cette représentation du corps céleste se déplacent en orbite autour d’elles-mêmes – et non autour de la planète rouge – formant ainsi des constellations changeantes. Les variations d’échelle très importantes entre les différentes couches de l’image génèrent une grande profondeur de plan, renforcée par le mouvement de rotation synchrone prograde, identique à celui du satellite. À travers la rotation flottante de ces multiples photos identiques échelonnées, qui engendre une comparaison constante des images, les caractéristiques de la surface et de la forme de l’objet s’impriment davantage dans la rétine du spectateur que ne le permet le cliché original réalisé par l’Agence spatiale européenne (ESA). Chus Martínez décrit avec pertinence cette qualité de l’œuvre d’Hunziker comme la concrétisation d’une nouvelle perception, plus approfondie, des propriétés physiques ou des processus qualitatifs du réel dans le cadre d’une nouvelle réalité numérique.
(Texte : Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Esther Hunziker (*1969), vit et travaille à Bâle.

Esther Hunziker est une artiste suisse indépendante, également maître de conférences dans le domaine des supports numériques. Conceptrice média, elle est spécialisée dans le web design. Durant son cursus de formation artistique, elle a appris le métier de couturière et étudié la création de mode à Bâle. Elle a ensuite fondé sa propre marque de mode, œuvré comme conceptrice graphique, expérimenté la technique de montage vidéo analogique et réalisé les premières formes narratives interactives sur le réseau numérique. Ses créations artistiques s’appuient souvent sur les technologies de surveillance, les objets trouvés, les photos d’architecture, les déconstructions ou les montages, et traitent de la confrontation entre réalité apparente et mondes imaginaires réels.