!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images

Year: 2008 – 2014
Type: Digital Video Video
Media Format: 3 single-channel videos, screenings from Zurich, Berlin and Leipzig. Devices: surveillance-camera receiver, screen, cable, batteries 3 single-channel videos, screenings from Zurich, Berlin and Leipzig. Devices: surveillance-camera receiver, screen, cable, batteries
Dimension: variable
Duration:
Edition: 7 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0021.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org/c/
Artist Website: wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org

Info
prev
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
prev
next
In their series of works titled CCTV – A Trail of Images, the artists known as the !Mediengruppe Bitnik intervene in urban surveillance systems. Using self-made signal receivers, they make hidden video-surveillance signals in the urban space visible to the viewer. 
Since 2008, Carmen Weisskopf and Domagoj Smoljo have been taking walks through the landscapes of these invisible cities. Equipped with self-made CCTV video-signal receivers and video recorders, they organize "dérives", or unplanned journeys, in search of hidden and mostly imperceptible surveillance-camera signals in public spaces. Surveillance becomes sousveillance: Their self-constructed tools provide access to the "surveillance from above" by recording and displaying CCTV signals, thus making them both visible and describable. In this way, they make possible a new view of the ever-increasing monitoring of urban space. Simultaneously, they improve our media literacy by providing instructions on how to use commercially available devices to detect surveillance systems. 
(Text: Sabine Himmelsbach)

Artist Bio

Carmen Weisskopf (*1976) Switzerland, and Domagoj Smoljo (*1979) Croatia, live and work in Zurich and Berlin.

!Mediengruppe Bitnik is composed of the artists Carmen Weisskopf and Domagoj Smoljo, who are assisted by the London filmmaker and researcher Adnan Hadzi and the reporter Daniel Ryser. Weisskopf and Smoljo are contemporary artists who work in and with the Internet. The focus of their art is the digital world and how it alters physical spaces. They deliberately work with the loss of control, in order to question established structures and mechanisms.

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014

!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images

Year: 2008 – 2014
Type: Vidéo Digitale Vidéo
Media Format: 3 single-channel videos, screenings from Basel, Frankfurt and London. Devices: surveillance-camera receiver, screen, cable, batteries
Dimension: variable
Duration:
Edition: 7 + 1 AP
Credits:
Acquisition: Acquired 2016. Inv. No. S0021.
Keywords:
Artwork Link: http://wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org/c/
Artist Website: wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.bitnik.org

Info
prev
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
!Mediengruppe Bitnik, CCTV – A Trail of Images, 2008 – 2014
prev
next
Dans leur série d'œuvres CCTV – A Trail of Images, les artistes de !Mediengruppe Bitnik interfèrent dans les systèmes de surveillance de l'espace urbain, en dévoilant à l'aide de récepteurs fabriqués par leurs soins, les signaux vidéo cachés.
Depuis 2008, Carmen Weisskopf et Domagoj Smoljo organisent des promenades à travers les paysages de ces villes invisibles : équipés de récepteurs de signaux vidéo CCTV et de dispositifs d'enregistrement spécialement conçus à cet effet, ils guident les "Dérives" à la recherche de signaux de caméra de surveillance cachés et souvent invisibles dans l'espace public. La surveillance devient alors "sousveillance": les appareils permettent d'accéder à la "surveillance par le haut" en captant et en diffusant les signaux CCTV, afin de les rendre visibles et descriptibles. Ils livrent un nouveau point de vue sur la surveillance de plus en plus présente dans l'espace urbain et fournissent, via leurs manuels d'utilisation, une initiation à la manipulation de supports, en montrant comment se servir d'appareils usuels pour reconnaître ces systèmes.
(Texte : Sabine Himmelsbach) 

Artist Bio

Carmen Weisskopf (*1976), Suisse, et Domagoj Smoljo (*1979) Croatie, vivent et travaillent à Zurich et à Berlin.
!Mediengruppe Bitnik est composé des artistes Carmen Weisskopf et Domagoj Smoljo. Leurs complices sont le réalisateur et chercheur londonien Adnan Hadzi ainsi que le reporter Daniel Ryser. Ces artistes contemporains, qui travaillent avec et sur Internet, axent leur pratique sur le numérique et sur son influence sur la modification des espaces physiques. Ils travaillent volontairement selon le mode de la perte de contrôle, afin de remettre en question les structures et les mécanismes établis.