Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still

Jonas Baumann, A Touch of Vacuum

Year: 2014
Type: Animation
Media Format:
Dimension:
Duration:
Edition: 1/3
Credits:
Acquisition: On permanent loan from Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt, 2017. Inv. No. S0043.
Keywords:
Artwork Link:
Artist Website: jsbaumann.ch

Info
prev
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
prev
next
In Jonas Baumann's A Touch of Vacuum, a loose series of short, digitally generated moving sculptures, set before neutral, indefinitely open visual spaces, moves past the viewer. One sees, for instance, a white cross, which is touched by a piece of cloth with a strictly geometric pattern of black and white cubes that then falls over it to the ground – and one thinks immediately of a mixture between Malevich, Suprematism and early Mondrian. A red ball springs to the right from a white platform and in its flight tosses a red cloth that glides down from above over the head and back of a black raven; here a comparison with Fischli & Weiss's Rube Goldberg-like chain reactions from their film Der Lauf der Dinge is not quite apt. 
For each of the computer-generated moving sculptures, a variety of possible reference points from art history can be inferred as a kind of murmuring but indecipherable background noise, because no existing comparison leads to a further understanding of the characteristics of the pictorial worlds Baumann creates. Hence, in contrast to the artist's paintings and drawings, a new, genuine, computer-generated pictorial language seems to emerge from the murmurings of modern art history. 
The objects and movements playfully explore the digitally won freedoms beyond the limits of gravity and materiality. The fabrics that are shown appear hyper-real, as an unnatural mixture of velvet and silk, leather and silicone. The liquid in a champagne glass seems solid, as in a still life by Lichtenstein or Rauschenberg, while solid tubes in a Dali-like slow motion seem almost to liquefy. 
Paintings cross genres to meet and evolve into sculptures, which, for their part, could derive from paintings – as, for example, when a Delaunay canvas, in its warm, orange-red color segments, artfully wraps itself around a lopsided, constructivist cross. The connection with the cross, the non-referential pictorial space and the meticulously demonstrated gravitational force represented by the movements of the fabric over the solid body of the cross are part of a genuine, computer-generated pictorial language.
Baumann's hetero-referential objects fall through the virtual space and demonstrate their physicality, or the facets of their hyper-mediality, through their movement, in characteristics that are silent and soft and yet usually fall victim to gravity. 
(Text: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio

Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still

Jonas Baumann, A Touch of Vacuum

Year: 2014
Type: Animation
Media Format:
Dimension:
Duration:
Edition: 1/3
Credits:
Acquisition: On permanent loan from Kunstkredit Basel-Stadt, 2017. Inv. No. S0043.
Keywords:
Artwork Link:
Artist Website: jsbaumann.ch

Info
prev
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
Jonas Baumann, The Touch of Vacuum, 2014, still
prev
next
Dans A Touch of Vacuum, Jonas Baumann fait défiler devant le spectateur une série aléatoire de sculptures animées générées numériquement, avec en fond des espaces ouverts neutres et indéfinis. On aperçoit ainsi une croix blanche effleurée par un tissu décoré d'un quadrillage géométrique en noir et blanc, qui glisse ensuite sur le sol – la scène évoque immédiatement Malevitch, le suprématisme et les premières œuvres de Mondrian. Une balle rouge est propulsée à droite par un tremplin et jette en vol un tissu rouge provenant du haut de l'image sur la tête et le dos d'un corbeau noir. Là encore, on pense spontanément aux réactions en chaîne d'une machine de Rube Goldberg dans Der Lauf der Dinge de Fischli et Weiss.
Chacune des sculptures animées générées par ordinateur se réfère à l'histoire de l'art à de multiples égards, comme une sorte de toile de fond, cependant indistincte, car aucune comparaison ne permet d'apporter un nouvel éclairage aux caractéristiques des univers présentés. Contrairement aux tableaux et aux dessins de Baumann, cette œuvre semble donc reposer sur un nouveau langage figuratif, entièrement généré par ordinateur, et issu du bruissement de l'histoire de l'art moderne.
Les objets et les séquences de mouvements explorent de manière ludique les libertés permises par le numérique au-delà des limites de la pesanteur et de la matérialité. Ainsi, les matières semblent surréalistes, telles un mélange irréel de velours, de soie, de cuir et de silicone. Le liquide contenu dans un verre de champagne paraît dense, comme dans une nature morte de Lichtenstein ou Rauschenberg. À l'inverse, des tubes solides semblent quasiment se liquéfier, dans un ralenti évoquant les toiles de Dali.
Les frontières entre les genres s'effacent: les tableaux se mêlent aux sculptures et pourraient aussi bien en être inspirés, et inversement. Ainsi, une toile de Delaunay, avec ses tons chauds rouge-orangé, s'enlace artistiquement autour d'une croix constructiviste tordue. Le lien avec la croix, l'absence de repères dans l'espace et la pesanteur des mouvements du tissu, mise en scène avec une grande minutie, sont les composantes d'un langage figuratif entièrement numérique. 
Les objets hétéro-référentiels de Baumann tombent à travers l'espace virtuel et montrent, via ce mouvement, leur corporéité, ainsi que les facettes de leur dimension hypermédia, dont les propriétés silencieuses et malléables sont malgré tout soumises à la pesanteur.
(Texte: Bettina Back)

Artist Bio